Turn off the Tv and Turn on Your Passion

Christopher Banks
PassionDig
Published in
3 min readApr 7, 2018

In a world full of gadgets, latest trends and expensive cars, it is easy to lose sight of what is important. In fact we get so engrossed in finding a way to buy all these things that life simply passes us by without realising it. Then what are we left with? Even if we do manage somehow to get those items, what do we really have? An item we can hold, dress, or drive?

None of those things will make you feel fulfilled. Sure you will get some temporary pleasure out of them but will it really light you up inside? Is it your goal in life to gain these things?

Now in my early thirties I have started to focus on what is more important in my life. That is why believe it or not, I no longer have a TV. But what does your furniture point at? (I hear you say). The truth is watching TV is a passive activity. Yes it’s easy and pleasurable but i realised, it is taking up a huge part of my life, a part where I could be learning and growing, instead of knowing who was the mastermind behind the bank robbery or who said what about the other person.

And so I removed my television and vowed to be more productive. I read more. I read books on how to be a better father, how to be a better writer, how to be more productive. When I think of all the years i spent watching television and not doing these things, then I stop in awe thinking where I could’ve been now if i had started this sooner. Don’t get me wrong. I’m not saying that people should all together stop watching TV or movies. They are entertaining and give us some relief from life. I myself now have “Movie Night” on a Friday. What I am saying is, that if you limit our TV time or even Computer console time and focus on more important things like productivity, our passions, things that will make us truly alive inside, then you will be better off for it.

So what are your passions? Ask yourself, what makes you happy whenever you do it? What gives you a sense of achievement when you complete it? What do other people tell you you are great at?

Take a walk down a new path today, one with the TV turned off and one where you focus or discover your passions. I guarantee it will give you more fulfilment and more pleasure then a box (TV) ever could.

To discover more passions each day, head over to PassionDig.com

If you enjoyed this piece, please click the 👏 button and share to help others find it! Feel free to leave a comment below.

Pursue and discover new passions at PassionDig.com.

PassionDig.com
Facebook @passiondig
Instagram @passiondig
Twitter @passiondigger

--

--