PPP diary — March 2018–1

Javier Marquez
PassPill Project
Published in
2 min readMar 13, 2018

--

This is the first entry of the PassPill Project diary, a quick summary about the progress of the development that will be published every week.

The PassPill Project wants to share the complete development of a password manager application called PassPill, have a look at the PassPill Project site to know more.

Here we go!

onState

This week the development has been focused in the creation of the first library built as result of the project: onState will be the new state management tool for the PassPill application.

onState will be a simplification of freezer.js, the current solution. I hope it will make us forget about state management at all and will allow us to focus on nice app features!

It’s not yet documented, but I have created a nice suite of tests for it, and I hope it won’t be difficult to adapt PassPill to use it. That integration is the work that I will be doing the following days.

We can expect a nice presentation article for the tool soon!

Client side cryptography

We have published an article about how does the client-side cryptography work in the PassPill application: Creating a client-side encryption system.

Writing the article has been a powerful learning tool for me. I am not an expert on the cryptography field, so I got to learn most commonly used algorithms, their strong and weak points and how to combine them to make the encryption system work.

I am sure it’s not perfect yet, if you have suggestion on how to improve it, don’t hesitate to drop a message! It won’t be a big problem tune it up now that the backend is not yet published, in fact we are thinking to replace bcrypt by argon2 already :)

New ideas

Last week I assisted to the Reactfest conference in London, thanks to my employer YouCanBook.me (the best tool to manage your bookings).

I could meet very interesting people and I absorbed cool ideas like if I was an sponge! Hopefully we will be seeing nice articles about them when I have time to process them.

Collaboration

The project is open to anyone to contribute, if you like coding in Javascript you probably will enjoy having a look at the code.

If you like the project, don’t forget to follow our publication and @passpillio on twitter.

--

--