How to solve Android Studio “not responding” when running the emulator

Akhmad Faiz Abdulloh
PasuruanDev
Published in
3 min readMar 31, 2022

Hello everyone, welcome to my medium articles page. I made this article with the aim of completing the Huawei Student Developer ITTS program assignment #2 and is my first article in the medium.

I wrote this article based on my experience when I first did the assignment from Mr. Nithin (Huawei) is creating an android studio program with 2 activities. When I installed android studio, the installation went very fast. I think it shows that my laptop is strong enough to run android studio. But in fact, when I started to make the “hello word” program as taught by Mr. Nithin, made an Android Virtual Device (AVD) to run the application program on the emulator with the AVD that we created.

But unfortunately, when running the emulator, a very long process occurs, causing the android studio application to be “Not responding”. I retry many times running the emulator. Had the virtual device finished booting, but repeated the boot process and ended up “Not responding”.

In the end I decided to ask my friends who are experienced as mobile developers, so I found a way to solve this problem by running the application on a real device by connecting a PC with our smartphone using USB/Wifi.

The steps we have to do to connect our PC/computer with our smartphone using USB are:

Go to Settings on our smartphone > About phone > Press “Compilation number” (for smartphones like Realme/Oppo) several times, until a notification appears that “You are now a developer”

And here I am using Realme C2

For Xiaomi/similar you can press “MUI Version” in About Phone settings too.

  • Then go to Additional Settings > Developer Options > Enable “Developer Options” as well as “USB Debugging”
  • Connect USB (can be done before setting too)
  • Then it will automatically detect our device name in android studio
Screenshot from Android studio #1

Wait wait wait, why the device detected HUAWEI MAR-LX2 ??? didn’t you say that the device used was Realme C2??? Cool, I’ll explain…

Here’s what friends, I explained earlier that I wrote this article based on my personal experience. Well, before that I had connected my laptop with my Realme C2 smartphone. But at that time I encountered a problem when running the application, namely my Realme C2’s internal memory was full. so I can’t run the application on my Realme C2, and don’t have time to capture the screen when it’s connected to my laptop.

So make sure our smartphone’s internal memory is sufficient to run the application.
Previously, I didn’t know that the error was due to insufficient internal memory, but when I met my friend and asked him to teach me, then the two of us together tried to find the location of the error, which turned out to be that my smartphone’s internal memory was insufficient. And finally used my friend’s smartphone to try, and the result……. taraa…

Previously, I didn’t know that the error was due to insufficient internal memory, but when I met my friend and asked him to teach me, then the two of us together tried to find the location of the error, which turned out to be that my smartphone’s internal memory was insufficient. And finally used my friend’s smartphone to try, and the result……. taraa…

screenshot from Imam sutono’s smartphone

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DBisCeEg8Xo&t=116s

https://developer.android.com/studio/run/device?hl=id

--

--