The Rubik’s Cube

Rohan Arni
Path to Polymath
Published in
2 min readApr 3, 2021

A simple toy. A 3x3 square that can move. The objective: to make all the colors match.

The Rubik’s cube was and is a huge part of my life. It was a simple toy, and it enamored me when I was a little kid. When I grew older, maybe around second grade, I learned how to solve it all by my self, with the help of the internet of course. Cubing was a huge craze then, and I really wanted show all the bigger kids that I could solve it too. I spent two weeks in a frenzy trying to learn how to solve it. I even made a little booklet to help me memorize the algorithms, and carried it everywhere I went.

Then, I didn’t need the booklet as much. And then I stopped carrying it. In third grade, I went on a cube-solving spree. I whittled down my best time to 45 seconds (using the beginner’s method of course), and started solving all sorts of weird and exotic cubes, such as the Pyraminx and the Skewb. When my parents asked me what I wanted as a reward for good grades, I told them more Rubik’s Cubes. When I went to India that summer, I met more people who were into Cubes, and really got a chance to see the speedcubing world. And then I stopped. I just lost interest for a while.

And then I got back. After like 4 years, I have returned to the cubing world. I am learning CFOP right now, which is the faster way of solving the Rubik’s Cube.

This is my story of the Rubik’s cube.

Tomorrow, I’ll take a look at some of my favorites!

--

--