Memorial Day Tribute to Mothers of those who did not come home

don carpenter
Pathway to Happiness
2 min readMay 24, 2024

I was there, many years ago as a youngster, when the military came to inform my Mother that “your son will not be coming home”. I was there when they left as I stood at the end of the dining room table watching her, not knowing what to think or what to do. And then she turned to me saying “the tears that I shed are the tears of love”. Those unforgettable words would last a lifetime for how could she have had tears of love in the face of death?

Many many years later the realization came to me that my Mother had given me the Golden Key that unlocked her secret message to me about death. We have no life of our own to die for there is only one life and that Life is the Life, the Love, of God. This Truth was given to us by Jesus when he said “call no man on earth your father, there is but one Father above”.

The Truth about death is that there is no death for we can never be separated from Life because the only place we can exist is in the infinite Life and Love of God. In the kingdom of God that is within us there is no death and Jesus tells us to seek first that inner kingdom and then Life, the absence of death, will follow. In other words, ”in thy Presence is fullness of Life” for “I have come to give you Life and Life more abundantly”.

--

--

don carpenter
Pathway to Happiness

My postings help people to remove mental health issues that inhibit success and gives them the freedom to maximize their potential.