Vlogs 2017

Video Logs

Patrick McDonnell
Patrick McDonnell

--

___

Last year, I intentionally created a few vlogs on my trip to Paris. I wanted to experiment filming with my iPhone 6S as a medium for storytelling, and make films with the intention of posting to Instagram.

I continued to make vlogs in 2017 to see where it would take me vlogging 7 days overall this year, as compared to my 9 from 2016.

This year’s vlogs consisted of a getting a new couch from Ikea, the OSCON convention in Austin, a Next City Vanguard conference in Montreal, and PARKing Day in Anchorage.

Here’s this year’s collection with a reflection at the end. Enjoy!

I Got a Couch!

OSCON

Vanguard Montreal

PARKing Day Anchorage

Reflection

I’ve learned that personal projects and events are pretty conducive to vlogging.

I like vlogging on my smart phone because it’s less intrusive — people don’t mind a phone to a full on DSLR and all it’s gadgets.

Of the vlogs I created this year, I was very strategic about my Montreal visit.

I had the schedule for the entire 3 days, and shot footage based on what happened in the morning and in the afternoon. I feel that it made for a much better story, and gave me time to enjoy Montreal when I wasn’t vlogging.

This year, I started experimenting with this with my Shorties collection which is more documentary-based with some vlog elements here and there, but leaning towards films. I want to continue vlogging, but now I’m starting to shift to my DSLR and making things a bit more cinematic.

More to come in 2018.

See vlogs and more on My Instagram!

--

--