Overcoming low self esteem

Patrick Rea
Patrick Rea Leadership
2 min readAug 24, 2020

Guess it’s in the term, self…esteem. How you esteem…. yourself.

How do we grow our esteem of ourselves?

But first a story, (if you want to get straight to the lesson, skip to the end now to the moral of the story)

Lately with the crazy time warp of confinement, I had gone super deep into developing a really important area of my life, homelife.

MISSION ACCOMPLISHED!!!

It’s truly amazing now. Something I am super proud of and super grateful for.

But yeahhhhhh…

My business…

Pffffff….

I had let my eye of the ball because you know, Covid, Britain’s economic collapse, being in the LIVE events business without being able to meet LIVE, lots of excuses :)))))

And when I was finished my task at home, my focus came back onto work and I felt like a loser about work.

Until…

I remembered that in life to get anything done we have to sometimes throw our life wildly out of balance and focus deeply on one aspect of it to get something done. This means that spiritual practices can take a back seat, relationships, whatever it is that you value but is not in focus can suffer.

Then you can get LOW self-esteem because you aren’t doing what you’d like to do in that area of life, while missing out on the fact that you accomplished something special in one area of life.

Because when we have LOW self-esteem or HIGH self-esteem, it only applies to one part of your life.

So, when you feel in LOW self-esteem, it’s a good time to look at another area of life where you’re doing really well even though it can be hard in the moment.

MORAL OF THE STORY

(and for those of you who skipped to the story)

A simple way to boost your low self-esteem is to reflect on something that would make you go up in your own esteem.

When I reflected on it, I saw that getting up on time again would do that for me. And that’s 5am, so I can study philosophy. When I do that, I get high self-esteem.

So, when you are in LOW self-esteem, ask yourself what you would have to do to make you hold YOU in higher esteem in YOUR own eyes.

Hope that helps.

Thanks for reading, if you are affected by these issues and would like my help to work through them or if you would like me to answer your questions you can visit my website https://www.patrickrealeadership.com or send me an email to patrick@patrickrealeadership.com

--

--