What happens when patrons become curators?

PatronageDAO
PatronageDAO
Published in
2 min readOct 5, 2022

PatronageDAO Co-Founder, Donatello, shares his thoughts

Part of the core mission of museums is to educate the public, and labelling artworks and objects is a big part of that educational journey. Most good curators will have a clear goal that defines what they hope visitors might think, feel, or do in response to the narrative they set.

But what if people don’t want to be told what to think and how to feel about art? Why should the museums set the narrative, frame the context, and provoke a predetermined line of thinking?

We got one of PatronageDAO’s Co-Founders, Donatello, to share his thoughts…

“When I go to a museum or gallery, I like to look at the works before reading the labels. I like to first see how the work of art affects me and makes me feel. Once I’ve done that, I like to read the labels to understand what the artist wanted to get across. So all in all, I like labels, but I don’t like to let them define my experience.

I think the job of a curator is a complex one. Putting together a show or collection that has a common thread and speaks to everyone isn’t always straightforward. Museums and galleries welcome people from all walks of life and art has the power to unite everyone, but ensuring that you don’t alienate any part of the public is a challenge. At PatronageDAO, we believe that there is no better curator than the patrons themselves. The very people that will be enjoying the art should be the ones that choose the art they get to enjoy!”

We want to know what you all think. What’s important in curating to you? Do you even want labels? How do you think a decentralised curating process will change how curating is undertaken, how labelling is done and what aspects of an artwork are seen to be important?

Become a patron and join our community:

--

--

PatronageDAO
PatronageDAO

A groundbreaking art collection curated and owned by the people