Generative Modeling + Playing with Structure Synth — Week #6

Meredith Gee
Pattern Bazaar
Published in
3 min readFeb 16, 2018

This week was spent exploring the process of generating abstract 3D models with code using open source software Structure Synth. Structure Synth models are generated with EisenScript pictured below:

As this was my first exposure to the software and EisenScript, I started analyzing and remixing Structure Synth models that have been published to Github. The primary repo that I pulled from as a starting point for my generative models is below.

The lack of control in working with Structure Synth and room for unintended (and often beautiful) mishaps definitely sucked me in. The time passed quickly as I wrote, copied, and pasted totally different EisenScript rules together to create some wild 3D shapes. The majority of my outputs ended up having a very organic nature. As I was new to writing in EisenScript, I was guessing at best about the outputs every time I added a rule or new structure to the code and hit build.

Structure Synth Experiment

I played heavily with spiraling, twisting shapes through adding rotations on multiple axis in the code. The outputs felt quite organic, but also slightly sterile and futuristic to me.

Structure Synth Experiment

In the case of the generative model above I took two drastically different sets of rules and found that they ran together with a bit of tweaking. I combined many different forms in this way.

When I was looking for examples of generative models from studios and 3D artists I noticed that I was very drawn to flowing forms with a lot of movement and focused on working with similar forms in my models. Below are some works that I found and particularly enjoyed.

Generative Model by Zimarc
Generative model by There Will Be Effects
Shot of generative model by Syntopia

I also played with arranging a single shape, such as rings or diamonds into larger collections. This ring of rings below is one of my favorites from these experiments.

Structure Synth Experiment

Finding models that were not only interesting, but also printable was a real challenge in this process. I spent a lot of time converting the Structure Synth creations to solid forms using Autodesk’s Meshmixer, many of which were just kind of disastrous and unprintable. It is easy to generate beautiful structures that have far too many free floating forms with EisenScript that just can’t be converted to a printable form. Below is a successfully translated Structure Synth output ready to print.

More next week! I’ll be recapping the process of printing these models and reflecting on the translation from digital model to physical objects.

--

--