My Independence Day

Paul Duffy
Paul Duffy
Published in
2 min readJul 10, 2018

For 29 years I have practiced chiropractic. For the past 24 years I have been part of a multidiciplinary practice that has grown into a hospital system. I have been fortunate to be at the forefront of healthcare especially when it comes to integrating chiropractic with traditional medicine.

I am lucky to have a large practice. I see patients some 50–60 hours a week. With sports medicine coverage I can work 6 even 7 days a week. I don’t do lunches, eat in between patients, and many times don’t even sit down all day. I am blessed to treat a wide variety of patients including professional athletes, Division I athletes, and all types of high school competitors. I interact with some of the country’s top health professionals every day.

I love every second of it, and I don’t consider it work at all!

So why “My Independence Day”?

I find myself in my mid-fifties on the “hamster wheel” most of the time shut away in a treatment room. I help a lot of people. But I want to do more. There’s a whole world out there of people who can benefit from my experience and whom I can benefit from theirs. It’s time to break free.

About six months ago I found myself reading about social media and how it needs to be a part of every business and will be the cornerstone of the future. I threw myself into the fray and have been slowly learning and building a social media presence. I have found the bridge from the hamster wheel in the treatment room to the world. And I am free!

So I said to myself no more procrastination, just do it. This is my first Medium post and will be the start of my written content. I felt I needed a “manifesto” and this is it. My main pillars of content will focus on the future of healthcare, sports medicine, soft tissue management, integrative medicine, and when I can anything Italian (that’s a whole other blog post).

I look forward to sharing my thoughts with you and more importantly your feedback.

--

--

Paul Duffy
Paul Duffy

Chair of Chiropractic, Coordinated Health, Team Chiropractor Lehigh University, Healthcare, Sports Medicine, Graston IASTM, and anything Italian are my passions