Instagram Stories

Just a quick post today. Going to give some of my impressions of Instagram Stories. I have a larger post I’m working on in my head about Rules for Hiring Me. That’s not the finished title, and it’s probably going to be a long post, so, in the interest of writing everyday, I’ll be topical.

So, Instagram Stories feel a lot like Snapchat Stories. No surprise there, to be honest. This is what competition looks like. But, right off the bat, I noticed that Instagram Stories have better image quality. Instagram knows how to use a phone camera, and they know how to get sharp images. Snapchat has always made blurry stills, especially in low light. It’s never been a deal breaker, but just a small irritation for a photographer that has always prided himself on making good images.

Will this pull me away from Snapchat? No. I really like Snapchat, and the way I jab on Instagram is all about high-quality photography, not fun, throwaway content. But I am excited about this move, because Snapchat will be forced to further refine it’s value proposition to users. Hopefully this means better battery life when using the app. At least, one can dream.

No, seriously, I woke up like this. (My Second Instagram Story)

--

--