So You Want to Hire Me: I Drive a Yaris

I drive a Toyota Yaris. It’s a sedan, and it’s from 2008. I bought it used, and it’s all paid off.

Now, there are other cars I would rather be driving. At a bare minimum, I should be driving a Subaru WRX. Also, an Audi R8 would be nice. But, to be very honest, what I really want to be driving is a LaFerrari.

Ok, so why am I driving a weak-ass 2008 Toyota Yaris (and yes, I do know that the LaFerrari is out of my reach)? Because it’s paid off. In fact, I have zero debt. I am debt free.

Now here comes the punchline. I’m debt free so that I don’t have to live paycheck to paycheck, putting up with a crappy job. So many people are working jobs that they hate because they have kids, student loan debt, and a mortgage.

But me, I live in a shitty apartment with low rent (for Austin), and I drive a Yaris. Before I quit my day job at a start up, I was making six figures. I could have upgraded my lifestyle, but I have been very intentional in not doing so. And that’s because I really, really need to be passionate about the work I’m doing.

So, you may want to hire me, but the paycheck is not enough to get me interested. Show me your culture. Show me how you’re going to motivate me. Show me how we’re going to build something meaningful together.

My Toyota Yaris.

--

--