Minimum Wage by State — 2016

13 States Increasing Minimum Wage in 2016


Arkansas, California, Connecticut, District of Columbia, Hawaii, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, New York, Rhode Island, South Dakota, Vermont and West Virginia.


Minimum Wage Rising

The federal minimum wage is $7.25 per hour. The federal minimum wage provisions are contained in the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA). Some state laws provide greater employee protections; employers must comply with both.


Hourly minimum wage paid by federal contractors is $10.10.

The following list contains state minimum wage data as of 12/31/2015.

Please note:

  1. Some changes take effective later in 2016 as indicated
  2. Some states have lower minimums for smaller businesses or businesses that provide health insurance. Ask your BDB Client Services Representative for additional details about the state in which you’re doing business.
BDB Payroll offers Automated Minimum Wage Adjustment for all your employees in New York and Connecticut by submitting a Minimum Wage Increase Consent Form. To take advantage of the auto minimum wage increases please complete the form at http://www.bdbpayroll.com/minwage

Minimum Wage by State

Alabama minimum wage rate is $7.25.

Alaska minimum wage rate is $7.75.

Arizona minimum wage rate is $8.05.

Arkansas minimum wage will increase (from $7.50) to $8.00 — effective January 1, 2016.

California minimum wage will increase (from $9.00) to $10.00 — effective January 1, 2016.

Colorado minimum wage rate is $8.23.

Connecticut minimum wage will increase (from $9.15) to $9.60 — effective January 1, 2016.

Delaware minimum wage is $8.25.

District of Columbia minimum wage will increase (from $10.50) to $11.50 — effective July 1, 2016.

Florida minimum wage rate is $8.05.

Georgia minimum wage rate is $7.25.

Hawaii minimum wage will increase (from $7.75) to $8.50 effective January 1, 2016.

Idaho minimum wage rate is $7.25.

Illinois minimum wage rate is $8.25.

Indiana minimum wage rate is $7.25.

Iowa minimum wage rate is $7.25.

Kansas minimum wage rate is $7.25.

Kentucky minimum wage rate is $7.25.

Louisiana minimum wage rate is $7.25.

Maine minimum wage rate is $7.50.

Maryland minimum wage will increase (from $8.25) to $8.75 — effective July 1, 2016.

Massachusetts minimum wage will increase (from $9.00) to $10.00 effective January 1, 2016.

Michigan minimum wage will increase (from $8.15) to $8.50 — effective January 1, 2016.

Minnesota minimum wage rate is $8.00.

Mississippi minimum wage rate is $7.25.

Missouri minimum wage is $7.65.

Montana minimum wage is $8.05.

Nebraska minimum wage rate is $7.25.

Nevada minimum wage rate is $8.25.

New Hampshire minimum wage rate is $7.25.

New Jersey minimum wage is $8.38.

New Mexico minimum wage rate is $7.50.

New York minimum wage will increase (from $8.75) to $9.00 — effective December 31, 2015. (Minimum wage for tipped employees in the hospitality industry is $7.50 per hour).

North Carolina minimum wage rate is $7.25.

North Dakota minimum wage rate is $7.25.

Ohio minimum wage $8.10 (for non-tipped employees).

Oklahoma minimum wage rate is $7.25.

Oregon minimum wage is $9.25.

Pennsylvania minimum wage rate is $7.25.

Rhode Island minimum wage will increase (from $9.00) to $9.60 — effective January 1, 2016.

South Carolina minimum wage rate is $7.25.

South Dakota minimum wage will increase (from $8.50) to $8.55 — effective January 1, 2016.

Tennessee minimum wage rate is $7.25.

Texas minimum wage rate is $7.25.

Utah minimum wage rate is $7.25.

Vermont minimum wage will increase (from $9.15) to $9.60 — effective January 1, 2016.

Virginia minimum wage rate is $7.25.

Washington’s minimum wage will increase from $9.32 to $9.47 effective January 1, 2015.

West Virginia minimum wage will increase (from $8.00) to $8.75 — effective January 1, 2016.

Wisconsin’s minimum wage rate is $7.25.

Wyoming minimum wage rate is $7.25.