Here’s How To Correctly On-Board An Intern

A few simple steps to drastically improve an intern’s first days

Maika Isogawa
paywithextend
5 min readJan 23, 2019

--

There’s no rulebook on how to welcome new employees, especially interns that typically have a limited timeline. However, the weeks leading up to the start of the program can make or break an intern’s experience. The on-boarding process is like a first impression, and Extend’s successful methods are a reflection of the quality of people at the company, and of the business overall.

1. Include all relevant information in an introductory email.

This is the email that your intern will pay the most attention to throughout the course of the entire internship.

“Welcome to the team! Here is some information for your first day and beyond.” This email from Extend, sent a few weeks before the beginning of my internship, answered all of my questions. How to get to the building, what time, what to bring… they thought of all of it.

Laying out every detail of the first day means a lot to a new intern. You’re relieving them of the uncomfortable string of emails to a manager they haven’t met yet, having to ask about seemingly trivial things like what floor the office is on.

But the introductory email is more than just comforting a new team member. It’s a company’s chance to have all of the appropriate paperwork completed, and tie up all loose ends so that the new intern can show up and add value immediately.

2. Send preparatory materials before the internship starts.

For Extend, this was included in the introductory email as well. A link to set up my company email. Software that I would need to download in order to integrate into the business. LinkedIn profiles of the team members I would be working closely with. Access to company materials, and further reading on the industry and related businesses.

It may seem overwhelming to send all of these things to a new intern before the first day, but I promise it’s not. An internship is typically 10–12 weeks, not long for a new employee to make an impact. The more they know about the company going in, the less time is wasted on orientation, tech installation, and getting ‘up-to-speed.’

Extend gave me all of the materials I needed to come in with foundational knowledge of the industry. I also had access to most of the company materials like presentations and timelines, so I knew what point of which process I was entering at. This is how you set your intern up for success.

3. Build a connection whenever possible.

Even though they won’t be around too long, interns can add significant value. However, they can only do this if they feel comfortable with the people they’re working closely with, and with the company itself.

Extend is unique. It’s a platform which enables cardholders to instantly share their credit card with employees and freelancers without ever exposing their card number or losing control over spend. Before I even set foot in the office, I was sent a virtual credit card to welcome me to the team. A card that allowed me to get a few things in preparation for work, no need for receipts or reimbursement.

Extend made me love the company before I even knew that I would be doing in my internship. I had communication with my manager, and personal interaction with the service, and immediately felt a deeper understanding of the business.

Connecting through a product isn’t the only way to form a bond with a new intern. My manager took me out for coffee the first day. Meetings for lunch, sharing bits of wisdom, even a Slack message once in a while are ways to easily build a relationship with a new intern. You never know where they’ll end up in their future.

4. Swag is always a good idea

It’s such a minute aspect of a job, but even the smallest piece of company swag can light an internal fire inside a new intern.

I arrived at Extend to two things: a company laptop with an ‘Extend’ sticker, and an ‘Extend’ branded notebook. “These are my weapons and I’m joining this battle,” is the kind of affect this can evoke in a new hire. It did for me.

What seems insignificant to a company can promote brand pride, ownership, and excellent work ethic in an intern.

5. Give them work from day one

The intern wants to be able to walk away with a set of new skills and experiences to support them in their future career.

The more comfortable they get doing work for a company, the more willing they will be to take on more responsibility, and approach bigger, more impactful projects for the business.

Extend gave me a project from day one — something that would have a direct impact on the company. It’s a welcome surprise compared to a lot of other companies, that prefer to ease their interns into the fold more slowly. But realistically, by the time an intern feels integrated, it may already be a couple weeks into the program, and both the business and the intern lose out on the true potential of the employment.

It’s a simple list, but so easily overlooked. Extend has a distinct business and team, but the practices can be applied to any company, in any industry.

To learn more about Extend, visit https://paywithextend.com/

To see how Extend works, watch the video below.

--

--