PCT Section Hiking

Yoram Yaacovi
PCT Section Hiking
Published in
6 min readMay 14, 2018

Days 7–9

To follow my PCT Section A hike, click here. For some reason, the section between Lake Morena and Kitchen Creek Road was not tracked. The section between Scissors Crossing and Barrel Springs is not tracked because I didn’t walk it. The section from Scissors Crossing to Julian is not part of the PCT and was done in a car.

Day 7
From: mile 62, Mason Valley road, 4700ft
To: mile 77, Scissors Crossing, 2261ft
7 hours, 16.5 miles/26.5km, 2500ft elevation loss, high 20 degrees Celsius
Long day, with 1.5 miles to get back to the beginning of the trail and another 14 miles to hike, into my first encounter of the desert. On the other hand, temperatures dropped substantially, so great weather and fun to walk. I hiked the first 7 miles with sandals, to ease on the blisters, and in my breakfast stop, treated the blisters and put shoes on. Then started the 9 miles long descent into the desert.

Day 7 Views, Plants, and the water cache in Rodriguez Spur

I passed Reilly and MacGyver on the way, which was good because of what happened next. Around mile 73 I was attacked by a rattlesnake that was hidden behind a bush to the left of the trail and I didn’t see it. I can’t recall what exactly happened, but I somehow pushed it off, don’t ask me how, maybe with the hiking pole, and I rolled down the slope to the right. When I was back in my feet, it was still on the path hissing. I had scratches and blood in few places, but didn’t feel a bite. I took my phone out to take a picture of the snake, in case I will need medical assistance. I then waited to the two folks that were behind me, first to warn them of the snake who was still o the path, but also to walk with them, so that someone is with me in case there was a bite. As we walked the 4 miles to Scissors Crossing, my confidence grew that I wasn’t bitten, and that the blood and scratches happened when I fell down the slope. When we got to Julian, I went to the local medical center to be checked, just in case. Now that I knew that I am OK, the hardest things for me was to get back to the trail the next day. I had a long conversation with myself 😊, and decided the best cure for the fear was to get back on the trail first thing tomorrow morning, which is what I did. It was hard at first, but I learned to move quickly forward while always looking ahead, and paying extra attention in narrow path with limited visibility. I also hold the hiking pole in front of me in these area. I am not sure it will stop a snake attack, but it sure helps me confidence and feeling.

Rattlesnake on right (don’t zoom in if you dislike snakes) and the water cache in Scissors Crossing

Day 8
From: mile 101, Ranchita road (S22), 3455ft
To: mile 111.5, Warner Springs on road 79, 2930ft
4.5 hours, 12 miles/19km including walking back to Warner Springs, 500ft elevation loss, high 18 degrees Celsius.
For the first time on the PCT I skipped a section, from mile 77 to mile 101. This 24 mile section has no access out, so you have to walk 24 miles in one day, or camp out one night. In my current shape, I could have done 24 miles in one day, but decided not to take the risk. It helped that this is probably the boriest part in section A.
Section A of the PCT ends in Warner Springs in mile 109.5, so walking to mile 111.5, I am done with section A and walked a bit into section B. Minus the 24 miles I didn’t walk of course.
Today’s section was relatively boring, but did introduce a new scenery of meadows. It is also the first time on the PCT where it went by a hiking attraction - Eagle Rock - and paralleled for some time with the hiking trail to Eagle Rock, so in the last five miles of today there were many people on the trail. Warner Springs, where I spent the night, is a small community with a gas station, a restaurant and a small ranch. My intent was to hitch hike 2 miles from where the PCT cross hwy 79 back to Warner Springs, but after no one stopped for about half an hour, I gave up and just hiked back. Without the hitch...

Day 8 views near Warner Springs

I finished the day with a tour of possible exit options for day 9, and a visit to a local boutique winery.

Day 9
From: mile 111.5, Warner Springs on road 79, 2930ft
To: mile 118, PCT meets Los Valley road, 4077ft
4.5 hours, 11 miles/18km, including walking back to the main road, 1100ft elevation gain, high 17 degrees Celsius
Today was an odd day. It was my last day on the PCT for now, and I wanted to walk the trail, but there was no convenient exit point after 10-15 miles. So I decided to hike till the next exit point, Lost Valley road at 6.5 miles, hoping to catch a ride back, but knowing that it’s an abandoned road and I might not be able to find anyone there.
I am glad I walked this section. The PCT follows the Agua Caliente river (and in case you wonder, the water are not hot, they are freezing) up its valley, crosses it multiple time before climbing out on its western side. I think it’s the prettiest section of the PCT so far. And it’s a good exercise in climbing.
I am also happy I made the 6.5 miles decision, as the road, although paved, is really abandoned, and I had to walk back to hwy 79, about 4.5 miles down the road.

Day 9 views, Agua Caliente Creek, and the end of my PCT hike at mile 118 (bottom right)

--

--