PCT Section Hiking

Yoram Yaacovi
PCT Section Hiking
Published in
3 min readMay 9, 2018

Day 0

A day before starting on the PCT, at the house of Scout and Frodo, the most amazing trail angels you can find. http://sandiegopct.com. They started in 2007 hosting few hikers before they start the PCT, and this year will host more that 1000 hikers over a season of 10 weeks. When I was there they hosted 38 hikers (!), most of them thru-hikers, in their house and backyard that day/night. 90% of the hikers are under 30. At 61, I was the oldest in thr bunch. One more Israeli besides me: Omer Yeroushalmi.

What do they do for you, as a totally free, coming from the heart service? I could save you a lot of text to read and just say "everything", but by now you know I am not a saver when it comes to words...

- A place to sleep in their house or 6 people tents they put in their backyard, which is where I stayed.

- Food: breakfast, lunch and dinner

- Packing stuff

- Information

- PCT thru-hikers volunteers that help you with advice and tuning the weight of your bacpack

I can go like this for another page.

The Manns: the tents in the backyar, the garage, the toilets with guidlines in every possible language, and dinner with everyone outside

One of the better benefits was the help I got from Jetpack (I don’t know her real name. This is her trail name) re the weight of backpack. We went thru everything I have and she just threw stuff out. Soap? Deodorant? For pussies. A second pair of pants? One is more than enough. Towel? Where are the scissors? Let’s cut a small piece from it. It was when she counted the number of toilet paper pieces I brought that I knew I am in trouble... We got rid of about 2kg, leaving me with about 16kg (including food and water) and as I climbed up the first ridge a day later, I thanked her for every gram off.

My backpack contents on the left, and what was thrown out by JetPack on the left

At midnight I was asleep in my sleeping bag with 5 more hikers in a large tent, waiting for a 5am wakeup.

--

--