The Power of a Single Habit

Here’s to your official beginning

Heather Burton
Peace with Food
3 min readJul 15, 2020

--

Photo by Heather Burton

Overcoming years of trouble in one’s relationship with food can seem impossible.

We face our issues, learn something new, give that a try, falter, then stand in front of the mirror or pantry or weigh scales and feel like there is no winning this battle.

The pattern tends to repeat.

Here’s a truth:

You can dissemble a wall the same way you build it: one brick at a time.

If all you can do right now is ONE THING, that is enough. It is an official beginning.

In fact, you may already have established your one thing, and now you’re ready to stack on Thing #2.

Making gradual change is a winning strategy in itself. Just pick one thing that seems manageable and do it till it’s perfected.

Then, choose another, and do the two. Take the time you need to make it yours, then select the next.

My one thing from several years ago is to hydrate myself first thing in the morning with a glass of water with the juice of one-half lemon in it.

I do this every.single.morning, occasional fasting excepted.

On crazy mornings, I tip 3 drops of lemon essential oil into my water and call it good enough.

On freezing winter mornings, I fill the glass half full of cold water, then the rest with water I’ve heated in a kettle.

On the days when I think I can’t do “tart” one more time, I stir in a drizzle of liquid honey or a sprinkle of stevia. Instant, refreshing lemonade!

If I can’t buy lemons, I try limes.

If I can’t buy fresh citrus, I’ll use bottled lemon juice.

The point is that on all of the days, I do it.

I drink cleansing water with cleansing lemon, and give my liver and digestive tract a little squeaky clean after a night of hard work processing food.

I drink it because it’s my *one thing.*

It’s like a toast to my own determination to live in harmony with my body.

Lemon-water-first-thing reminds me that I’m the kind of person who values feeling well…that I do the work…even if it’s one glass of hydrating lemon water at a time.

Cheers to your “one thing!”

What will it be?

❤ Heather

Note: Some expert friends have taught me to rinse my mouth with water after ingesting citrus. So, I do. (It’s the acid in the juice that can effect your teeth. A straw might help, too. They also suggest not brushing for 1/2 hour after drinking lemon water.)

--

--