Joseph: Giving Up Animal Products!

Renee Black
PeaceGeeks
Published in
2 min readOct 10, 2018

My name is Joseph and I moved to Vancouver from London 6 months ago with my partner Carol to take on a new challenge in the green building space with the team at Recollective. I grew up in a pescatarian family so I ate a lot of fish when I was younger, but I have also eaten meat for the last 10 years.

For #GiveItUp4Peace, I decided to give up animal products because of the impact meat processing has on on the planet, all the way from red meat to things like eggs and yogurt. I never actually really thought about it till I moved to Vancouver. It also made me think about nutritional challenges refugees face to survive and how we take food for granted Brexit was anti-immigrant and effectively anti-green.

I am so happy to be in a place like Canada that is more open, where I can be part of a strong green building movement and in a place that welcomes immigrants and helps them to succeed and I am thrilled to be supporting PeaceGeeks #GiveItUp4Peace campaign this year! What will you give up?

Join the #GiveItUp4Peace challenge or donate to support Joe and others at giveitup4peace.org.

All proceeds fund PeaceGeeks’ projects helping refugees, newcomers and communities at risk use tech for peace.

--

--