Race Reflections — 2023 Jersey Gravel Grinder Deux

Geoff
Peaks & Pedals
Published in
3 min readJan 28, 2024

Gravel bikes have been growing in popularity over the past several years, as has gravel races. And since my modus operandi is to find as many ways to torture myself as I can… I’ve started riding gravel. Road cycling wasn’t painful enough. I just wanted to feel the sufferfest of riding hours upon hours on bumpy gravel roads on a bike with no suspension. The same question always comes up with every new thing I try — why do I do this to myself? I originally got my gravel bike so I could explore the canal paths in my area. Yes, I probably could have just used my mountain bike for that, but why just suffer a little when I can suffer a lot?

Of course, learning about insane gravel races like UNBOUND Gravel got the masochist in me curious about the world of gravel racing, so I signed up for a local gravel grinder race. Who wouldn’t want 65 miles of bumpy gravel paths with nearly 4,000 ft of climbing?!

Race day was equally miserable. Chilly. Wet. Windy. Not quite cold enough to go full winter layers, but just chilly enough that I would need long sleeves and leg warmers. Rainy enough that I rode with a waterproof windbreaker, which unfortunately has zero breathability. So, I kept the windbreaker on, but unzipped the entire race, which then acted like a parachute (it was for the extra gains!).

There’s a Scandinavian saying — “there’s no such thing as bad weather, only bad clothing.” I’m not certain what the right clothing would be, but I guess I could have just endured the rain and left off the windbreaker. After 5 hours of riding in the rain, everything was going to be soaked no matter what so the windbreaker wasn’t really contributing much aside from creating drag. But maybe it looks cool, like a cape flapping in the wind! Or not…

With all the bumps in the dirt and gravel paths, my butt was already sore half way through the race. I took extra long at the aid stations just to give my derriere as much of a break as I could (and because they had Cup Noodles at the last station). As I rolled through the finish line, I was absolutely miserable. Cold. Wet. And in much butt-pain. That 65 miles on gravel felt more painful than 100 miles on the road for sure. I know a proper bike fitting and finding the right saddle make a huge difference for road cycling. I’m wondering if the right saddle with make just as much of a difference on gravel grinders. Or will your butt be sore no matter how well fitted your saddle is when you do 5 hours on gravel?

At least there were some nice refreshments at the finish. Yay for taco trucks! Will I do another gravel grinder? I’m undecided. It’s not exactly something I’m very eager to sign up for. Maybe it’s worth another shot if I do some proper training with gravel rides. But since I have zero focus in my training, it seems unlikely. A shorter gravel race might be more realistic for the near future, and maybe I’ll work my way up to the longer distances if I want to relive this sufferfest.

--

--

Geoff
Peaks & Pedals

lover of science and data with an appreciation for design