Pearls and Paperbacks

Ashley Rae
Pearls and Paperbacks
3 min readOct 24, 2019

--

Check out more at my bog https://pearlsandpaperbacks.wordpress.com/

It seems like I’ve always had a problem with…well… me.

With my weight, my mind, my ugly ass feet. You name it, and at some point, I’ve struggled with it.

I have abandonment issues, “crippling” anxiety, ADHD, an eating disorder from hell, and a few other disorders my doctor has come up with that I can’t remember….

Basically, I come with some heavy baggage.

For a while, I thought that blogging about these things would help lighten my load. I thought writing about my weight and past would help the pounds and rage melt away. And for a while it did. I can’t deny that writing (and therapy and my patient husband) have helped me work through some really difficult times and drop some of the heaviness that I so desperately needed to let go of.

But now I feel like writing about these things are doing more damage than good. Bringing it all up and writing about my past and current struggles are keeping them fresh. I feel like I’m sitting around this huge fire that I keep bitching about wanting to put out, but instead of grabbing the hose, I just throw another log on.

This stuck feeling is what made me shut down my blog when I was writing about my “recovery from dieting” in 2016, and I don’t want to

--

--

Ashley Rae
Pearls and Paperbacks

Wife, corgi mom, dad joke teller. I love reading & writing about life, love, happiness, and dogs.