Introvert and Proud.

Ioana Grigorescu
Peculiarity
Published in
4 min readSep 19, 2019
Source: Freepik.com

I am an introvert. My feelings, my thoughts, my anguishes, I keep them bottled up inside. I don’t like talking about my problems. I don’t like expressing my fears. Come to think about it, I don’t like talking very much in general. Social interactions are difficult for me. I assume, almost all the time, in all my conversations that the person I am talking to is mentally recording the discussion, and will, later on, laugh with friends and family about my mistakes. I do tend to get overly excited when talking to actual people. It doesn’t matter that it’s not true. It matters that I think it is and this fear of not being laughed at, limits my conversational skills.

Why being an introvert is actually quite nice

Source: Freepik.com

Being an introvert, however, does have its perks. For one thing, you can seem incredibly mysterious. I could never pull off such an attitude. But some people can. Some of them might just be undercover extroverts, on a mission to discover the workings of the minds of introverts and crush the Ministery of Silence from the inside. But I do believe that there are real introverts that can pull off the mysterious appearance.

Another perk of being an introvert is that we have such a full and active social life in our heads that we never, but never get bored. True, we do carry out our conversations with ourselves, but if you are a creative introvert, you’ll be able to create an army of dialogue partners.

Now, don’t pretend you haven’t noticed us, you extroverts, you! You can spot an introvert a mile away, it’s your freaking superpower. And then, once you’ve seen us, you come all proud and cooky, ready to teach us how not to be ourselves.

Oh, but starting up a conversation is so simple! Come on, you can do it! (Don’t worry, I’ll just laugh on the inside when you start to stutter.)

And you never do it on the inside. It’s like you don’t have an inside, everything is out in the open for you, people!

Anyway, the point I was trying to make is that introverts have secret lives. I, actually, like to think that we are like the ultimate conversational spies.

Always listening, always recording every word you extroverts are saying, making strange connections, solving mysterious, and we never give ourselves away. It’s always the same, cold, mysterious answer.

Yah, I’m good.

We’re very difficult to crack, also. And that’s our superpower, mister.

We are the walking, breathing, not talking example of spies.

But seriously now.

Source: Freepik.com

While being an introvert is something that defines me and quite frankly, I wouldn’t change it, I cannot deny that it can be hard. I envy people that can easily talk to others, people who can express their feelings without a second’s thought.

I envy them for being so brave and for being able to tell the world what their fears, troubles, worries consist of.

Sometimes, living on the outside seems to be quite exhilarating. But so is living on the inside. And noisy, too. I never get tired of having imaginary conversations with different people, expressing opinions and arguing why the sky is blue.

I’m never alone, even though, for the outside world, I’m just a mentally unstable person, who is talking to herself on the street. So, thank God for the age I was born into and for the increasing number of lunatics, as they guarantee my freedom.

So, yes, I like being an introvert. And I wouldn’t change it. The only thing I regret about my situation is that I’m the only one, who can hear my jokes. I’m a pretty funny person. At least, that’s what my imaginary friends keep telling me.

--

--