Black Glitter: My Ego or Alter Ego?

Peculiar Ediomo-Abasi
Peculiar’s Online Diary
3 min readJul 30, 2022

I love the privilege that comes with having inside jokes. You enjoy the joke and don’t owe any outsider that doesn’t get it. It’s only if you feel like it, that you share the origin of the joke. This is not so different from how one reveals oneself to a person or people.

My perception of intimacy is that no two persons share exactly the same level of bond even though they may be in the same category of closeness. I also believe that time or proximity is not what bonds people but perhaps, shared experiences and moments. Vulnerability too!

In a category of close people, it could feel emotionally politically incorrect to say one out of all is my favorite, but I always seem to have one that sticks more than the rest.

The Alter Ego

Typical me is very quiet, curious, careful, private, blunt, goal-oriented, and straight to the point. You will most often meet her in the early mornings, a bit of her in an office or professional setting, and a lot of her in new scenarios. Let’s call her Black.

Black takes her time to do things, is quite detailed, and rarely makes excuses. Some people who meet her for the first time, think she is a snub. But as she gets comfortable with a person or environment, she drops some guard.

Usually, as a morning proceeds into noon and noon into an evening, Black lets her other self emerge, whatever this means. But hey, she’s loving, playful, talkative, carefree, easy-going, down-to-earth, and loves to express herself. We can call her Glitter.

Transparency

I am Black Glitter, peculiar, and generally fun to be with. I constantly seek to understand my true self, improve my personality, and give people around me the room to discover their best selves.

However, how connected or bonded I get with a person or people depends on who they are in sync with, Black or Glitter. Nothing foisted, all in flow!

Glitter is apparently the part of me that loves the idea of this online diary, and I hope that Black does not wake up one morning, think it’s all a crappy idea, and delete the whole thing. That would be absofuckinglutely humi-illuminating!

Anyway, I always let Black know when she comes all prim and proper on me, that it is very okay to be silly sometimes, and life is not that serious!

Cheers ⭐

BrookeMonk

--

--