I’m Lowkey

Peculiar Ediomo-Abasi
Peculiar’s Online Diary
2 min readJan 20, 2023

--

I have tolerated so much drama in the past that laidis ehn, I just dey lowkey. I no fit shout. Being present and surrounding myself with people who are at peace with themselves, means the most to me.

Now, it is important for me to:

Enjoy the sound of the rain as it pours

Enjoy the beauty of the sun as it shines

Enjoy the taste of the food in my mouth

Enjoy the gratitude for the air that I breathe

Enjoy life itself

Enjoy today

Enjoy now

Less bandwidth for worries. Pretty chilled!

Borrowing the illustration of Gaur Gopal Das:

“Do you have a problem in life? No. Then, why worry?

Do you have a problem in life? Yes. Can you do something about it? Yes. Then why worry?

Do you have a problem in life? Yes. Can you do something about it? No. Then why worry?”

True true, problem no dey finish, make person just try dey enjoy. Super grateful to God for a life of grace and ease. I’m all game for the soft life, and unbothered way of living.

Every day, I just dey try practice the scripture, “Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways submit to him, and he will make your paths straight”, Proverbs 3:5–6.

The Paradox of Life

In this present day culture of hustle and bustle, get-rich-quick, and immediate gratification, ease and flow is highly disregarded. Yet it’s funny how unevenly balanced the world is despite. I guess ‘following process’ still rocks. Also, the paradoxes:

The more you know, the more you know you don’t know.

The more you’re afraid to fail, the more likely you are to fail.

The more you fail, the more likely it is that you will succeed.

Vulnerability is attractive.

The more you need help, the harder it is to get.

The more you want someone to like you, the less they do.

The search for happiness is the cause of unhappiness

The only constant is change.

Not making a decision is a decision itself.

The more you multi-task, the less you get done.

You get what you give.

The more you wait longer the longer things take.

In summary,

To enjoy life, be present.

--

--