Ultralearning, Metacognition, and My Pretty Self

Peculiar Ediomo-Abasi
Peculiar’s Online Diary
2 min readAug 23, 2023

4 years ago, I did the Gallup Cliffton Strengths Assessment and it made sense of my innate love for learning.

Learning is actually fun for me when I can put into practice what I am learning or else it becomes a drag — A purposeless venture. It’s really a life skill for me that I survived the boring classes in school.

How do I learn?

Well, my style of learning has always required me to do some form of reinforcement of what I’ve learned. I either prepare a summary note, doodle, or teach someone what I’ve learned.

My brother mentioned Scott Young’s Ultralearning to me, I looked it up and picked up some bits that I will utilize in the coming months.

Simply put, Ultralearning teaches one to adapt and thrive. Eager to see how I pull this off.

How do I think?

I became aware of my mental filters and read about unraveling possibilities. ‘I did do the do’ of facing my triggers, some shadow work, and unlearning how I infer. Now, it’s very safe to say I love how I think.

Over time, I’ve learned to create a balance between intuition, challenging assumptions, and compartmentalizing for problem-solving and mental wellness.

How is my pretty self?

I used to joke a lot about coming as an extrovert in a ‘next life’, as introversion can be quite some work, no nicer way of putting it.

I play to my strength, but 55% of the time I have to set myself up. Consequentially, I feel drained more times than I can have Cabernet Sauvignon in a year. But do I love the results? Abso*uckinglutely!

Not like clarity matters here, but I might as well live ‘the next life’ already in this one and eat my cake and have it. Anything to authentically get me closer to the full-bodied, fruitiest-favored-savory-tastiest version of myself.

The good thing is that I have found myself. I just wonder why I had to get lost in the first place anyway. Well, cheers to my 2024 resolution starting in August 2023.

--

--