What I admire about my fave male celebrities

Peculiar Ediomo-Abasi
Peculiar’s Online Diary
4 min readDec 17, 2022

What if there’s something about the Onscreen Male Personalities (OMP) I admire and love to listen to? Well, I wouldn’t know. Possible that they reveal a thing or two about what I’m drawn to? Perhaps!

I thought to journal to process my thoughts on my perception of my fave SMPs hoping there’s something I get out of this.

Steven Furtick

Source: Elevation YTH

So far, since 2020, Pastor Steven Furtick has been my favorite pastor for the following reasons:

  1. Pastor Steven’s relationship with his congregation and by extension with me has never been that of Super-Heroe vs Mere mortal or Most righteous vs Bloody ‘sinvilian’. It’s been, we dey dis spiritual journey together!
  2. I appreciate Pastor Steven’s sincere and open talks about his walk with God in relation to his weaknesses and tendencies, parenting style…other aspects of life that are also relatable to me.
  3. I feel recharged and genuinely drawn closer to God with every single service I attend.
  4. Beyond Pastor Steven’s vulnerability and sense of humour, I perceive him as being principled.

Jay Shetty

Source: The National

I listen to Jay a lot and like the following about him:

  1. Jay is upfront about becoming—He is open about areas of improvement in his life, in a way that inspires changes in me.
  2. I will not attribute the calm way Jay talks to years of having premium conversations. But yes I do love this about him. Jay is not rushed!
  3. Jay’s growth reinforces to me the power of starting. I see how beautifully he’s expanded since his first video in 2016.
  4. In Jay’s marriage with Radhi, I perceive that he’s the more emotional one, and that’s just adorable to me. He doesn’t mask this about himself.

Trevor Noah

Source: Los Angeles times

Trevoiiir! Dear son of Patricia. I love these and more about him:

  1. Trevor talks about lessons from his upbringing a lot. And I appreciate how homely this portrays him. He talks of his mum, his SA friends, his choice of food, etc.
  2. I like that Trevor is very much self-aware and knows where he stands regardless of what is trendy or approved by society.
  3. Trevor comes off to me as someone who likes his personal space and manages his dopamine highs and lows pretty well.
  4. Haha! Trevor is respectfully sarcastic. I doubt if respect and sarcasm ever go together, but there you have it.

Jay Z

Jay-Z — Photo: Kevin Kane/Getty Images for The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame

When I think of Jay Z I think of composure. I’m not really about his music or personal life, but from his conversations, these are what I admire about him:

  1. Jay comes off to me as a great listener and calm talker. He lets people take turns to express themselves and rarely interrupts, if at all, softly.
  2. When Jay talks, it’s often as though his words are from a place of experience, lessons, reflection, or somewhat maturity on the subject matter.

Chris C.

Well, Chris is not necessarily an OMP, but he’s someone I have conversed with a lot in an influential way:

  1. Chris admits to not-knowing when he doesn’t, and does not feel the need to pretend.
  2. I like that Chris is diplomatic about the way he passes rebuke, which makes the recipient easily grasp the message or feedback.

Smart

I’m constantly reminded of the quote, “Don’t be my peace, I have that. Be at peace with yourself so we can love each other correctly” when I communicate with Smart. He is not an OMP either but he has a healthy influence on me. I adore these and more about him:

  1. Smart is quite self-aware and in tune with himself in relation to his choices, environment, and events in his life.
  2. I undoubtedly perceive that Smart is at peace with himself, which makes relating with him very enjoyable.
  3. I appreciate Smart’s ability to let go easily and not take life too seriously. He’s easygoing and lives jejely. Soft life!

In other words,

The idiosyncrasies or better put, qualities above, reveal to me, what helps me connect with people beyond a surface level.

Thanks for stumbling on my thoughts. Aurevoir!

--

--