Short Story

A Love Letter

Or something someone in love wrote on his diary

pedro a duArte
Published in
2 min readNov 5, 2023

--

I wish to see you again to realize, when you leave, that I want to see you once again. I want to repeat these dates until I am certain that I don’t want you to leave. Until I am certain that I want you to stay forever.

In repeating this, I want to find out what thing about you, which particularity, compels me towards you. What singularity about you that makes my chest heavy when you are not around?

I wish to see you again so I’d have an excuse to excuse to receive your tight hug; when you arrive and when you leave. And, during our time together, I shall seek other ways to have your arms around me once again. And, so, I’ll feel the comfort and care that I felt with you that cold night on July’s last day.

I wish to spend a thousand and one nights with you until I finally get used to spooning. Until my mind quiets its whirlwind of thoughts and I can hear the avenue murmuring softly outside my apartment.

I want to spend these nights with my face next to yours until I memorize the scent of your locks; so, I can be surprised, as I walk alone at the streets, by a morning breeze that carries your scent.

I wish to wade by the park on Sunday mornings and ask about your life stories until I’m finally able to gather enough materials to write your biography. I’ll end the story on that book with that New Year’s Eve when we met. And, then, I want to spend our Saturday afternoons writing with you the rest of this story.

I wish to see you again so I’m certain that this thing about you it’s not something my mind invented. I wish to see you again to know you felt the same thing. Otherwise, I will have bothered my best friend for nothing, from telling her so much about you. Worst: I will let down the readers of my diary (in a future when I’m already deceased) with yet another story in which I end up alone again.

To you that reads me from the future, do tell me: when will I finally end up with the boy?

NOTE: This short story was originally written in portuguese. You can read the original story in portuguese here:

--

--

pedro a duArte
pedro a duArte

Jornalista e Escritor // "Para além do que vivemos e acreditamos, nossas vidas se tornam as estórias que contamos" (Lynn Ahrens)