Network Like a Pro at Events

Bold Kiln | OperatorVC
Pen | Bold Kiln Press
4 min readMar 10, 2015
Dell Women's Entrepreneur Network event - NYC

(This post might be more relevant for startups and entrepreneurs. However, the post might turn out to be useful for others too. Feedback welcome.)

I have got every job offer through my network.

I have secured every client for photography assignments (portfolio) and product design startup through people I know.

I have got marketing and fund raising assignments through my network across the country.

And I actively play a role of a connector for a lot of people in the entrepreneurial ecosystem, across the world.

So it’s not hard to imagine that I pride myself on my network.

Anyone who knows me wouldn’t believe that I am an introvert and quite shy when it comes to talking to people. Big events and large crowds overwhelm me. If you spot me at an event, you would find me stuck to my mobile phone in one corner, may be sipping on some chai.

At the same time I love meeting and talking to people. Talking to people is my source of knowledge, information and inspiration. Therefore I had to change my behaviour patterns. Here are some habits I developed, which may help you network like a pro at the next event you attend:

1. Research a day before visiting the event: Its helps to know who is attending the event, who are the speakers or workshop hosts. Some of you may also find it difficult to initiate a conversation or figure out what to talk about. It might be a good idea to pen down some thoughts or questions and names of people who you would like to meet.

Identify people who you know would be coming to the event. If you know someone in the organizing team, even better. It makes it easier to get introduced to the audience and initiate conversations.

2. Use twitter, Facebook and other social media channels to announce your attendance prior to the event: I am more comfortable conversing via social media. And since social media is now popular with event organizers and companies, posting on various websites about my attendance at the event (of course, using relevant hash tags) made it easier to initiate conversations, find out who is coming, do some research and make intelligent conversations with people at the event.

3. Networking opportunities at events: It might be a good idea to look through the schedule and see if there are specific networking opportunities for entrepreneurs. Some events do have opportunities to pitch and this might be a good way to tell the audience about you, generate interest and begin conversations.

4. Humor almost always works: Hell Yeah! This one doesn’t need any explanation. All of us like a little bit of humor in conversations. But if you are meeting with someone for the first time, it might be a good idea to keep sarcasm at bay. Everyone may not appreciate smart comments and puns all the time.

5. Volunteer at events or apply for paper presentations where you may not be able to secure an entry ticket: Sometimes it just makes more sense to volunteer at events as it provides more opportunities to interact with people.

I remember this prestigious event where I volunteered to organise the mentoring sessions, right before setting up a similar initiative for my employer. Not only did I save some hefty fees, I learnt a whole lot of things and also got access to the organisation’s database with numbers to connect with some of the top investors and industry experts, besides of course getting a chance to introduce myself to some top people in the circuit, with whom I am still in touch with.

6. Partner with events if you have something to offer to the team: One of the aspects of my job entails organising Maker Fest and to propel the brand each year, we form partnerships with relevant events (besides companies and organisations) across the country. This not only helps us spread the word about our yearly event, but also connects us with relevant people in the industry and academia who eventually support our work in some way or the other.

Lastly, be polite, confident, presentable and bold. And almost always, well dressed boys and girls attract a lot more people. Like they say, first impression is the last impression.

(Aditi has worked across segments and domains and is presently associated with Motwani Jadeja Family Foundation. She carries over 8 years of work experience and can be contacted via email — adyteegupta at gmail dot com)

--

--

Bold Kiln | OperatorVC
Pen | Bold Kiln Press

One stop shop solution provider for startups. We help with Information, Services and Products. We also invest in startups via our partner angel fund OperatorVC.