State of Trance

Lakshay Khurana
Pen | Bold Kiln Press
3 min readMay 5, 2018

Emerged in the 80s from UK’s rave culture, the well-known electronic music genre ‘Trance’ has taken the world by a storm in the last decade. Trance heads, like myself, think of it as a distant cousin of classical music because of the various emotions it brings out. It is much more than what it is usually defined as.

I was 14 when I really got into this genre of music, and was always cast out as someone who listens to weird tunes. I could never explain to anyone how diverse and emotional it is. The fast-paced beats and euphoric melodies with synth leads always took me to dreamy places.

It keeps one in a fantasy world, hence the word ‘trance’, which is a state of mind. When I am in the state of trance, I am living the music like never before and feeling one with it. My mind is relaxed to the core and there’s nothing but positive vibes in and around me. I feel being set on a journey away from my problems, and nothing else seems more important. There’s no other music which makes me feel as much energising and calming like it does.

I’m not a very happy person usually but listening to music (mostly progressive trance/house) throughout the day keeps me in that glee mood when needed, at least. It is far more than a song or an album, it’s an entire way of life. It’s on a much different level, it’s music that elevates you to a spiritual platform.

sub

I started attending gigs and live shows while growing up and it just made my love for music stronger, to say the least. Meeting people who admired it the same way as I did, was the best way for me to get social. I’ve interacted with artists and fans around the world and learned so much more about the genre from their perspective. It is true as they say, music connects people.

The Trance music community isn’t the same anymore. Just like every music genre, it too has evolved but is still alive, unlike what many people believe. The golden era has indeed passed away but my love is still the same. I still love exploring different choons on a daily basis even while working.
The mixture of the stabbing melodies giving you goosebumps, huge venues, big crowds, lighting, and DJs has left a big impact on my life and are one of the best memories I have.

Trance forever!

P.S. You can listen to my playlist of Trance music (old and new) which I tend to update with all the new tracks on an irregular basis here.

--

--