LIFE LESSONS

Give It A Try

When you say I’ll try, do you mean it?

Saeed Khan
Pen Tribe

--

Give It A Try
Nafan1980 ,Freepik

We use the phrase (I’ll try) frequently in our conversations. It has several hidden meanings.

I’ve noticed myself using the same phrase countless times, but you know what?

When I say I’ll try, my response comprises so many different meanings depending upon the situation at hand, the person who suggests/ recommends it, and my interest in the subject.

  • When someone enlightens me about something I’m incurious about, I say I’ll try, just to avoid that person or situation.
  • When I get an assignment that is important but not urgent, I deceive myself by saying I’ll try it later. It’s just another way to steer clear of a situation.
  • When I get inspired by reading a motivational story or watching TED talks, I make an intention to try on some future date by linking it with different conditions.
  • When my teachers or elders share some wisdom and life advice which is tedious for me, I say okay I’ll try, and this is just another way of saying no.

There can be scores of other meanings for the phrase under discussion, but they aren’t the same for everyone.

Trying isn’t always that demanding, but we all have our reasons for such circumstances.

Let me tell you my reasons for staying away from taking action in such conditions.

  • When I find something uninteresting, I say I’ll try. The meaning of using the phrase here is; I’m not interested, and I will never try it LOL!
  • When I hear something that makes me angry, instead of behaving rudely, I say I’ll try. The meaning here is; Get lost, or I put you before my knees LOL!
  • I say it when bluntly saying no is not a suitable option. The meaning is: sorry! I can’t do it.
  • I use the phrase when I lack the confidence to take action, and here the meaning is: sorry! I can’t do it because I’m afraid I’ll fail.
  • I use it when I’m in conversation with a friend or colleague who tries to motivate me to make a decision. Here the phrase means: I’m not sure whether it will work for me.

What do you mean when you say, I’ll try?

I would love to know the meanings associated with the phrase. I’ll give it a try.

You’re not supposed to be a “Yes Man” to people who suggest, advise, or say things you don’t like.

On certain occasions, saying I’ll try is the best reply, but don’t use it when it comes to tasks that are urgent and important.

Don’t lie to yourself, take prompt action when it’s required. Don’t procrastinate.

When you say (I’ll try) to yourself, mean it, and make it done right away.

When your parents, teachers, or some experienced person offer advice, don’t just say I’ll try. Think about it and try to understand the hidden wisdom.

Thank you for reading! I hope it helps; if so, please clap for me fifty times. I’m open to hearing. Please let me know in the comments. Clicking the follow button would be great encouragement.

--

--

Saeed Khan
Pen Tribe

My name is Saeed Khan, and I'm an educator cum writer. I enjoy reading books, articles, blogs and stories. To become a great writer is my dream