Goodbye to My Angel Mom

My Mother Died on June 14, 2024.

Qaiser Khan
Pen Tribe

--

Mother
Mother, Freepik

My heart aches every day since you’ve been gone
The silence in the house carries on and on
Your warm hugs and sweet smile I’ll never feel again
All that’s left is this hurt deep within

I replay old memories over in my mind
Your loving soft voice, so kind
The way you’d laugh with your whole heart
Filling any room with your loving part

So many things I wish I had told you
Little gestures of love I’m sad you never knew
You gave me so much throughout the years
It still brings tears, missing you is all that appears

Night falls and the loneliness sets in strong
Curling up in bed just don’t feel right without your song
Your guidance and caring will never fade
Forever in my heart is where your memory stays

Time marches on, but the wounds don’t heal
Kept in deep heart, not allowing anyone to feel
Your pious soul has moved on up above
Leaving me with only memories of your deep love

One day when it’s my turn, I know we’ll meet again
Till that time, I will have to feel the pain
As that blessed moment comes to be
You’ll be alive in my heart and memory

Your loving spirit gives me the will to go on
Though we’re apart your lessons still live strong
Parting brings grief that never will mend
But a mother’s love knows no end

Deep in my soul, your love has its place
yearning for your touch, tears cloud my face
Gone but never forgotten each and every day
My beautiful mother, in heart will always stay

……….

(I remember that gloomy June 14, 2024, Friday noon. When I saw Mother after the Juma Prayer during lunch, she looked totally fine. Before I went to work, she even prayed for my health.

Following a few hours, my son hurried to my workplace, looking very scared. “Grand Mom collapsed. The doctors say it was a cardiac arrest,” he said through tears. I rushed home in a daze, refusing to accept as true that her heart, which had showered so much love, had now stopped beating.

Right then, my whole world fell apart. My father and now my mother had both died within three years. They were the two people who meant the most to me. It was hard to accept that my dad was dying, but losing my mum broke me into pieces. The people who raised me with love and care were like a help system and guide lights.

I realized I was truly by myself as I stood in the cemetery and watched her coffin be lowered into the ground. In times of trouble, Mom and Dad weren’t there to wipe my tears or hold me close. Knowing that home might never feel the same without their loving presence made me feel empty inside.

We were in a state of grief for days, and I spent my time looking through old photos and remembering the good times we had together. The only things I remembered about them were their love and the important lessons they taught me about life. After crying, I promised them that I would focus on their unfinished goals for me for the rest of my life. They will be happy with their son because I work hard.

In the midst of today’s rain, I found strength by thinking how much my parents gave up and believed in me. I’ll be better because of this pain of loss. To honor their memory every day, I will enjoy the hopes they had for me but couldn’t bring about. I will be with them in heaven one day, and I will be happy knowing that my accomplishments made them proud. You can still feel their love in my writings, and it will keep guiding me on my journey of life.)

Pen Tribe

I am grateful to everyone who has contacted me, visited, or written me condolences; your support has been immensely motivating.

--

--

Qaiser Khan
Pen Tribe

Devoted cooking enthusiast, poet, blogger, and content writer