An Open Letter to Donald Trump

Alexis Doyle
Penline
Published in
3 min readOct 8, 2016

Dear Mr. Trump,

I hope that you are doing well. The time period during which you have risen to become the Republican presidential nominee has uniquely coincided with my own personal journey of becoming a more aware citizen.

Because my passion is in the sciences, it was not until fairly recently that I became drawn to the world of policy. For the majority of my life it was easy to separate my interest in medicine from the world of politics. In fact, for most of my life I avoided “political” conversations. I care about my relationships with others, and I would have rather made sure to not alienate anyone whom I could potentially offend.

You realized how important policy was before I did. You are running for President of the United States of America. Through your political statements, you have garnered the support of millions across our nation, and you have promised to make it great again. You do not fear offending anyone. You speak your mind very loudly and clearly.

I will do the same.

I am a woman. My dream is to become a doctor for the underserved, and it is my hope to get that job one day regardless of if I am “beautiful” or “attractive.” Rhetoric matters, and it is hurtful to me to hear you publically speak about women’s worth in terms of their “body” or their ability to “be a good wife.” I am so much more than that, and so are all of the women I know.

Some of my dearest friends are Muslim. They have generously told me about the beautiful ways in which they practice their faith and live out their values of humility, acceptance, and peace. Calling for a “complete shutdown” of Muslims entering into the United States is founded in nothing but an ill-founded and inappropriate stereotype of 1.6 billion people, several of which have changed my life for the better.

I have close friends that have been sexually assaulted. Sexual assault is not something to joke about, it is not something to expect when “they put men and women together.” Sexual assault should not be political.

I have had the honor of making friends at Special Olympics. I don’t know if you have had this same honor, but the Special Olympians I’ve met have taught me that disability is a relative term. Disability — whether it is cognitive or physical — does not indicate a person’s worth, his or her ability to contribute positively to society, or the amount of respect they deserve. Mocking those with disability in public is hurtful, is shameful for someone who prides himself in being “considerate and compassionate to everyone.”

I met a refugee from Syria several days ago on the bus. You said you don’t want people like her “in our country.” Yet, the intense and harrowing violence occurring in her home country is now common knowledge. I am glad she is here.

I had the opportunity to study abroad in Puebla, Mexico last semester. I watched with my Mexican host family as you came on TV speaking about Mexicans as “rapists.” I translated for my host family. Answering questions about you was one of the hardest things I had to do while I was in Mexico.

I mentioned that I used to “care” about my relationships with others that I avoided politics. Well, Mr. Trump, I care too deeply about my friends, my future patients, and my fellow members of the human family to not be political.

You said in your speech in which you accepted the Republican presidential nomination that “America is a nation of believers, dreamers, and strivers.” You are right; I am one of those dreamers. So are my Muslim friends. So are my friends who have been affected by sexual assault. So are those whom our society has labeled as “disabled.” So are those who have escaped death in terror-ridden countries and found refuge in our country. It is my request that you keep this in mind as you move forward in your campaign. Remember to whom it is that you are “giving a voice.”

Sincerely,

Alexis Doyle

--

--