My open love letter to President Trump

Adam Gordon
Penline
Published in
2 min readJan 20, 2017

President Trump,

Today you will become our president. You will become my president. I am one of the people who ‘lost so badly they don’t know what to do’ to whom you sent love on New Year’s Day. So I want to take you at your word and send love back to you. Truly.

I want you to find fulfillment in your life as president. I deeply believe if you are fulfilled, America will be the better for it. I admire your achievements. From your success as a baseball champion in school to coming back to succeed after your bankruptcies to your media success with The Apprentice and your many other successes, I hope you will bring this success to America.

What I wonder though is do these successes leave you fulfilled or empty? I want you to know that I am in support of you not just being successful but being fulfilled by that success. I want you to pursue successes because you want to, not because you have to.

If you feel loved because of your money, your money is loved but you are not. If you are loved because of your fame, your fame is loved but you are not. If you are loved because of your presidency, your presidency is loved but you are still not. I want you to feel real love based on nothing but the fact that you are a human being.

I, like you, sought love for much of my life through achievements, actions and things, but I felt empty inside. It was my great fortune that I never achieved your levels of success because I got to experience fulfilment for who I was. I know this might sound like my own rationalizations for my failures, and perhaps it is. I’m open to being wrong.

I want you to be the greatest president America has ever had. We all win if that happens. I know that the more personally fulfilled you are, the better decisions you will make for all of us. I may disagree with your decisions and policies, but I want you to feel loved and deeply fulfilled by life.

If what I have written speaks to you and you would like to know more, be it by email, a phone call, a tweet or a meeting — I and many others who share my wish for your fulfillment are here to serve at the pleasure of our president

Sincerely,

Adam Gordon

--

--

Adam Gordon
Penline

Adam Gordon is actor, comedian and speech coach with a focus on storytelling from San Francisco, Ca. www.adamgordoncoaching.com www.facebook.com/adamgordoncomic