Open Letter to Donald Trump

Eder Holguin
Penline
Published in
3 min readJun 26, 2015

June 26, 2015

New York, NY 10018

Mr. Trump,

As a Latino immigrant who came to this country 24 years ago in the same conditions that many of us arrive in the United States, I was shock to hear you say the things you did on national television. I figured I would share some of my feelings with you and provide some insights that may help you see things from a different point of view.

Growing up in Colombia, I lived homeless in the streets of Medellin and endured many hardships during the times of violence in my beloved country.

Learning about your life and reading about your success, provided a dream of hope to me, you were an idol and a role model for a young entrepreneur like me who dreamed of becoming successful. I read your books and followed your career closely. I always rooted for you and defended you when others attacked you. Until recently I was a big fan. All of that changed when I heard you called Latinos the things that I am not going to repeat.

As many other immigrants from all over the world, I dreamed of coming to America to pursue my dreams and came here with nothing. I barely spoke the language and had to do a lot of the menial jobs available to most immigrants while pursuing my dream of becoming an entrepreneur. I cleaned rooms in a motel in Brooklyn, waited tables in many restaurants, worked in small retail stores in the Bronx, etc.. but never lost sight of what I came here to accomplish. Today, I am the CEO of my own company and enjoy the benefits of my hard labor. I am truly grateful that America is without a doubt the land of opportunity and that we have become the nation we are today by embracing immigrants from all over the world that like me, came here full of hope with the desire to better themselves.

Many of the people you criticized are still at different stages of their journey, some of them may have bigger challenges to overcome than I did and others may have lost their way but I truly believe that, with a few exceptions, most of us want the same: To contribute to this great nation that adopted us, provide security for our families and provide our children the opportunities that we may not have had growing up where we came from.

I truly hope that you take a minute to read this message and reflect upon the many blessings and advantages that life has given you, and at the same time respect and admire the journey that many others have to endure without any judgment from your part. Personally, I am truly disappointed that someone like you has such a negative view of immigrants as a whole and I can tell you that I will not be supporting your campaign or voting for you.

Truly yours,

Eder Holguin

--

--

Eder Holguin
Penline

CDO @Higher Intel — Head of Marketing @Monegraph — CEO @OneQube - Serial Entrepreneur - Crypto Digital Marketing Expert