How to Give the Perfect Gift

Ezinne Njoku
Penning Legacies
Published in
5 min readOct 25, 2021

When you think of the perfect gift for a loved one, what comes to mind?

I’ll tell you mine.

Two years ago, my sister’s birthday came around and I couldn’t afford to buy her anything nice. I’m a year older than her, we are incredibly close and I felt really ashamed that I couldn’t get her anything. She understood, which made me feel even worse.

As her birthday drew close, I thought that it would be really awful if I didn’t get her anything. And, I really wanted to get her something that showed just how much I love her.

You see, I’ve been called cheesy, and there was a time when something like that would have upset me, but not anymore. Now, I’m a firm believer in loving your loved ones, randomly, frequently, and elaborately; while you have them with you. Love them in all the ways you can think of and, if that makes you cheesy, so be it.

You know why?

Life is short and heart-breaking, and you will not always have your loved ones in your life. They should never doubt how you feel about them because there’s nothing sadder than wondering if you are loved and appreciated by someone who should never allow you to doubt it.

So, back to my story. I wanted to give my sister something that really said, I love you and I think you are exceptional. Then I thought, why not just tell her? But, I’m never able to make eye contact while I’m being all cheesy, LOL, so I thought better still, why not write it to her? And oh! Why not write it in a poem?! I’m better at expressing myself in words, and over the years, I’ve converted sad, happy, and miserable moments into stories, or poems. So, I wrote my sister a poem for her birthday.

And let me tell you, that was the best gift I’ve ever given. You have no idea how utterly flattering it is to receive a poem written about you, or to watch the glow in someone else’s eyes when you give it to them. My sister loved every word, every line, and told me for days afterward how the poem really captured who she is. She got inspired, and happy and for the first time in a while, I saw a spark in her that I’d been missing. I also got her a journal and she made me write the poem on the front page, with my name signed at the bottom.

Now, every year her birthday comes around, she insists that even if we get her a present, we write whatever we feel about her, so she can file it and always go back to it. The poem I wrote her is still her favourite though, and she refers to it all the time.

That experience was what gave me the idea for gift a poem. I’m a ghost-writer, who loves telling and helping others tell their stories, and for a time there, gift a poem didn’t seem to fit into my work. But then, I thought about the glow on my sister’s face when she read that poem and even now how she reads it lovingly and I thought, why wouldn’t anyone want that for their loved one?

Gifts, especially well-thought-out gifts, are amazing. Think about how happy your loved ones are when you get them a gift they’ve been expecting (or not). But think how pleasantly stunned they would be, if you showed up, even on a random Tuesday with a poem written about them. A poem that says words they didn’t know they needed to hear.

When I say a poem, I’m not talking about something random off the internet. I’m talking about something custom-made for the one you are giving it to. It’d have their quirks, and personality all over it. Their dreams and aspirations, or yours for them. It could also have a fond memory(s). The first time you met, the things you love about them, something you admire about them, the moment you knew they’d be the one, your excitement or joy at their graduation, promotion, and anniversaries, or the exceptional person they have grown to be. Your poem could take any theme you want.

And, the best thing about it? It never fades. It is written in their hearts forever, committed to their memory, and can inspire them in ways you can’t even begin to imagine. I know this from personal experience, I’ve seen it.

Words are incredibly powerful, and far too many times they are used horribly. It’s why all the money in the world, all the presents, will not make a difference to a person who has never felt or been told that they are loved.

If you read my last article, you’d know that the theme of my ghost-writing service is all about leaving a legacy. In some ways, gift a poem is about that. However, asides leaving a legacy for the generations of readers and scholars who will come after you, you are making your loved one feel loved and appreciated, not for the future, but right here, right now; when they can experience all that they are to you.

A personalized poem may seem a little out there, so what? Think of all the songs, books, paintings, and the likes that have been inspired by the happiness of sharing time with someone you love. That’s the status you’d be elevating your loved one to; someone worthy of being immortalized into a work of art.

Sounds wonderful, doesn’t it?

Now, before you fret and wonder how to write the greatest personalized poem ever written, I can help with that. If you’d love to gift a poem to your loved ones, I can capture your theme and feelings into a poem that your loved ones will read lovingly over and over again. For any occasion; birthdays, anniversaries, promotions, Christmas, Valentine or again, just a random Tuesday.

This poem can be standalone, or it can accompany any present you’d love to include (AND, I can suggest a unique gift idea too!).

Either way, you’d be giving your loved ones the gift of a lifetime.

Ready? Book a free consultation and let’s create the perfect gift.

--

--

Ezinne Njoku
Penning Legacies

Fiction Writer, Poet, Accidental Memoirist. I NEED to write, I’m GRATEFUL that you read. Open to gigs.