What If I Told You, You Could Live Forever?

Ezinne Njoku
Penning Legacies
Published in
5 min readOct 11, 2021
A picture of a Logo titled with words Penning Legacies, leave yours in words, forever.
“We all die, the goal isn’t to live forever, but to create something that will.” — Chuk Palahniuk

Yes, yes, I hear it.

I sound like a mysterious door-to-door salesman claiming that I have the magic potion of immortality. But if I did, *rubs fingers sinisterly* “what are you willing to give for it?”

Okay, as you can already tell, I’m not a door-to-door salesman. But I do have the secret to immortality. You can live forever, or at least some version of you, the version you choose.

One day, I was going through my old boxes and I found an old book. It contained my poems and a novel I’d be writing when I was younger; 13 maybe, 14 years old. I’d named it Rose Hill High. This novel was basically a version of my secondary school, with all the drama I never experienced in my own life.

The book was old, dusty, and worn out. I blew off the dust, opened it and was transported back to a time when I was 13 years old and didn’t have all the worries and responsibilities I do now. It was such a simple time. I sat there for an hour or so, engrossed in the writing of this teenage me and the alternate life I’d created for myself.

A few days later, my little sister told me she had read it too.

“It was so good!” she said. “You should have written more. You should have finished.”

Many months later, I got into ghost-writing and after a time I was trying to figure out a name and theme for my services. That moment came back to me. That moment sitting down, reading my dusty old book and transported to a time I had completely forgotten. I thought about how I had felt, sitting there and reading the work of my 13-year-old self like she was a familiar stranger. I thought about how my little sister had felt reading it, I wondered what she thought about the girl in the book.

Then a few weeks later, I was going through Twitter and I saw this:

A picture of a tweet about Eric Carle, author of The Very Hungry Caterpillar.

And that’s when it hit me. “That’s it! I thought, THAT’S how you live forever!”

The truth is, no one wants to live forever. No one wants centuries and centuries of time; spent away from the people they love. Gliding and existing, but not really belonging, or having a time you can say is truly yours. I for one would love to be able to reminisce and think fondly of a better time or watch the new generation grow into theirs, and wonder if it will be better or worse than mine.

No one wants to live forever; we just want to create something that will.

A legacy that transcends our time into the next, so everyone who comes after us, knows that in this big world, amidst billions of people, we were here, we LIVED and we did this.

And I’ve realised that the best way to leave a legacy, is to immortalise your life in words.

You see, time is fleeting. Memories can become tainted, skewed and forgotten. Accomplishments can be buried or stolen, and whole legacies can be erased unless, you write them down. Unless you encase them in words and pass them down through stories, accomplishments, discoveries; read lovingly and retold by people who are grateful to hold a version of you that resonates, inspires, teaches or entertains.

Because words…words uniquely crafted are like fine steel forged in the fires of a skilled blacksmith, they will stand the test of time, echoing long after you’ve spoken.

Just ask Shakespeare, Dickens, Austen and Whitley.

Every author (me included) wants to write the next bestseller, but more than that, I want to create something with relevance that will stand the test of time. I’d love to put down my legacy in words and have my children, children’s children, their children and total strangers read my book and be transported to a time before they existed.

I want my words to speak for me, long after I’m gone.

I want people to say, “she gets it, how does she get it? How did she think of this? It was way before her time.

Like Jane Austen.

Is that something you want?

Well, I can help.

The good news is, you don’t have to be a writer to make this happen, but you’ll need one. One who understands the power of finely written words, the need to want to leave something behind, the desire to not be forgotten.

I’m a that writer. More specifically I’d love to be your ghost-writer.

If you have a story, an idea, an expertise, a thought, an emotion that you want to share; with your loved ones, your target audience or anyone else. I can help you do that. I can help you immortalise your legacy in words.

And, there’s no reason why it can’t be a bestseller.

Ready? Pick a genre, and leave your legacy:

Tell Your Story

Memoirs, Autobiography, Biography: The most inspiring stories aren’t made up, they are the stories of the lives we’ve lived.

What’s the story of your life or the life of someone you’d love to immortalise? What’s that one moment in your life that changed everything? What’s that one moment in your life that set it up for all the ones that came afterwards?

Let me help you tell it. I promise you won’t be the only one who finds it life-changing and inspiring.

Leave a legacy that’s uniquely you.

Share Your Knowledge

Thought leadership & Self-help Memoirs: Establish your brand, pass down knowledge to those who will come after you. Tell the story of how you overcame that addiction, that fear, made that impact; share that relatable moment in your life that someone decades into the future will still relate to. Times change, but humans don’t and your book could be the one that connects two unlikely generations, together.

Do it the way only you can; write a bestseller and leave a legacy.

Gift a Poem

The greatest present you could ever give, are true words that pour from your heart, into the hearts of the ones you love. Give the gift of exquisite, heartfelt and personalized poems; to your loved ones, for every occasion.

Immortalize your feelings, in words that will melt and heal hearts, decades from now.

Remember, time is fleeting, LIVE while you can and IMMORTALISE it in words.

If you are ready to ghost-write your book, create a personalized poem for your loved ones, or you just want to see if there’s something to your musing (there usually is), please book a free consultation.

Hope to see you!

--

--

Ezinne Njoku
Penning Legacies

Fiction Writer, Poet, Accidental Memoirist. I NEED to write, I’m GRATEFUL that you read. Open to gigs.