And there I stood

A poem

meet_muichyđź–‹
Penny Press
Jul 7, 2024

--

And there I stood
for the flowers to sprout out of sedimentary rocks

Photo by Jeremy Bishop on Unsplash

a beating heart
paused breaths
steady gaze in flickering lashes
cold curled toes

Yet, hands to warmth of belly furnace
that core in the frozen whole
blazing and sure -
it will
and blossom~serenity.

Photo by Tim Mossholder on Unsplash

Thanks for reading! If you’ve enjoyed what you’ve read, remember to follow the publication (and clap/comment too!). Want to write for Penny Press? Please check out our submission guidelines and ask to be added as a writer in the comments of that post.

--

--

meet_muichyđź–‹
Penny Press

I'm sure He will enlighten my darkness as Psalms 18:28. But as, and till it happens, I will have my entwined reflections as ink drops.