Bye April (a poem)

In honor of mental health awareness month

Vonche Ogburn
Penny Press
2 min readMay 2, 2024

--

April showers bring may flowers

The rain… the way it hits my window pane.

Wind blowing causing confusion.

I wish it were a lot easier to see the flowers when the rain is blocking your vision.

Faith is knowing the sun will shine again…

But when it’s been raining for days you lose hope that the sun will shine again … it starts to seem like it will only rain.

I wanna believe the sun will shine again.

I wanna smile like I know the flowers will bloom tomorrow.

Tired of hanging my head down in sorrow.

Clouds that crowd my mind.

It’s hard to think with all this fog. Rain rain … go away please ?

I just wanna believe the sun can shine again.

I need the rays to warm my face… clear skies in my mind .

Bliss ..

I want my smile to shine bright again.

I wanna radiate for others on their cloudy days and Remind them that the sun will shine again.

Rain rain you come and you leave but the sun will shine again… and again … and again.

Thank you for reading ❤

May you see the sunshine on the cloudy days

Vonchè

Thanks for reading! If you’ve enjoyed what you’ve read, remember to follow the publication. Want to write for Penny Press? Please check out our submission guidelines and ask to be added as a writer in the comments of that post

--

--

Vonche Ogburn
Penny Press

Sharing peices of me with you , to help inspire and empathize with this human experience ❤️