Polished

Lora Coleman
Penny Press
Published in
4 days ago
Tiny figures on a stack of coins
Photo by Mathieu Stern on Unsplash

I feel privileged

at the moment random times.

Not when house keepers come

but in the car wash line.

I am grateful to be in this place

but past struggles leave a trace

Why do I get this life -

born inside the border.

While others starve,

I place a door dash order.

Does anyone relate?

Does it seem fair ?

While she polishes mine,

the technician's nails are always bare

(I may change this later on but this was based on brief encounters of the day and figured I’d post to share.)

Thanks for reading! If you’ve enjoyed what you’ve read, remember to follow the publication (and clap/comment too!). Want to write for Penny Press? Please check out our submission guidelines and ask to be added as a writer in the comments of that post.

--

--