There Goes Another Company I Won’t Shop At Anymore

Ethical shopping is hard to accomplish

Bex
Penny Press
2 min readJul 3, 2024

--

Photo by Mike Petrucci on Unsplash

I’ve written in the past about how my mom taught me integrity by refusing to shop at a chain craft store because they refused to let my then-three-year-old sister use the bathroom. It was inhumane and irredeemable in her eyes.

She’s never shopped there again.

It’s not that I’m researching every company I shop with, but if it comes to my attention that they have unethical labor practices or are anti-human rights, I won’t shop there.

I recently stopped shopping at one of my favorite retailers (Gap brands) to get work shirts because their labor practices aren’t ethical.

Photo by Katie Rainbow 🏳️‍🌈 on Unsplash

By now, we’ve probably all heard that Tractor Supply has decided they want to be anti-human rights. I didn’t shop there a lot to begin with, but now it will be never. If you’re not up to date you can read about it here.

Do I think my meager amount of dollars makes a huge difference in their bottom line? No, I’m not foolish enough to believe that.

But I do believe in personal integrity, and I can’t in good conscience shop somewhere I know is abusive in any way.

Anti-human rights can also mean the company donates to causes that don’t align with my values. This can include organizations that donate to the forced pregnancy movement.

Photo by the blowup on Unsplash

I also don’t shop fast fashion, such as Shein. I get the allure of cheap goods, but the throw away culture we live in is killing the planet, and humanity honestly.

My kids are old enough to understand, at least on some level, why it’s important to be mindful of where we shop. I’m not perfect but I’m trying.

Thanks for reading! If you’ve enjoyed what you’ve read, remember to follow the publication (and clap/comment too!). Want to write for Penny Press? Please check out our submission guidelines and ask to be added as a writer in the comments of that post.

--

--

Bex
Penny Press

Sharing my experiences so others feel less alone.