Lazy or Convenient

Nathan J Bonassin
Penny Thoughts
Published in
1 min readApr 1, 2021

--

Photo by Thibault Penin on Unsplash

The other day, I watched someone in a parking lot go to the driver side door of the car to press a button to open the trunk of the car and then press a button to close the trunk when she was done. Have we made ourselves a society of convenience or a society of lazy people?

Technology is great, but at what cost? When technology creates a shortcut to do something without actually doing anything, that feels like a loss. I’m all for technology, but I can’t sit idly by and watch a machine do all of the work.

For the last several decades, we have seen a crisis in obesity the world over. And it’s not slowing down. We have created shortcuts and tricks with technology that allowed us to physically do less. These conveniences have allowed us to create a more sedentary lifestyle.

By no means am I saying that technology and convenience are bad things. I just see it as a problem when the technology and convenience start replace us actually doing anything. I still like to lift a finger and take care of things myself. I’ll still pickup a shovel from time to time and do my own gardening when need be.

--

--