The Creative Process is a Funny Thing

Nathan J Bonassin
Penny Thoughts
Published in
2 min readMay 19, 2020

--

The Creative Process is a funny thing. All of these ideas are bouncing around in your head, and the most important thing is to get them out. That’s the way it works for an artist. You create because you have to. Doing something mundane and non creative is horrible. Why would you want to do that?

For me, I just have to create. I market what I do. I share it on social media, but the thing of it is, I don’t give a shit if anybody ever sees it. The most important thing, is to create it. Then it’s out there. It exists. Then whatever happens, happens.

The tools of a creative — Photo credit Nina Photographer on Reshot

I have a lot of creative outlets to support my need to create. There’s this blog, Penny Thoughts, and another blog on Medium called Prompted Writing. Outside of Medium, I have two other blogs. First, I write a food blog called Me, Myself, and Cuisine. Second, a whiskey blog called The Whiskey Tapes.

Before all of these blogs got started, I started a blog called Di Bonassni’s Catering, chronicling the steps I was taking to start a catering company that never quite got off the ground.

Before any the writing, there was music. Picked up guitar as a young boy and. Dabbled in piano. I played drums in high school. In the early 2000s, I put my writing to good use and recorded an EP called Longing for September, under the moniker Nate Bonassin

--

--