Jerry forked up

Jerry Howell
Pennykoin Blog
Published in
2 min readMar 30, 2019

As you are probably aware, the hardfork did not go as planned. I’m going to explain why it happened, and hopefully lay out a plan to keep it from happening again.

So when I was building the fork code, I apparently changed every file needed for the update, in the gui wallet ( the GUI contains the cli code internally), but neglected to change one of the files ( blockchain.cpp) for the master branch of the cli wallet & daemon.

The block version didn’t change to 5 at 139000 hiight as it was supposed to because of this. I pulled the testnet build for comparison and found the error, since I had confirmed the version changing on testnet. Did a small in-house test and it’s 100% going to go as planned at block height 140250.

Moving on to prevention now. Now that the pressing issue of the hardfork has passed, I’d really like to start running testnet for much longer. I can’t do this alone, so in the coming weeks I will be implementing the built-in testnet function. If we ca get a handful of people to log in and play around with it some, we will get a lot more testing done than me trying everything I can think of for a few days. The testnet will be accessible using the CLI wallet, I know some of you might be afraid of the command prompt, but I promise our CLI wallet is pretty damn user-friendly.

So together we can make update much smoother in the future, I hope to see you on testnet ( I will give away free testnet pennies for everyone to play with).

--

--