State of the Penny: Feb2019

Jerry Howell
Pennykoin Blog
Published in
2 min readJan 31, 2019

Hey gang,

I really need to do these more often, I’ll set some reminders and attempt to do a biweekly.

There will be a mandatory upgrade coming in the next few days, a few new RPC calls & wallet commands, nothing too major. The main purpose is to lock old clients, there was an issue in 3.11 that was causing funds to stick in pending. Everything will process normally once we get the old clients/nodes out of there.

Immediately following that I’ll be spending a few weeks on related-but-not-coin projects. Hopefully some of which will generate some income. There’s pkweb.host-anonymous web hosting, pkmail.host-encrypted email, cryptofabulo.us-apparel & art stuff.

After those projects, focus will be on bitspend or whatever it ends up being called (pkto?) a bi-directional PK/BTC gateway/website.

Then we will having the hard fork, it’s been a while since a hard fork and there are quite a few things I need to change, so it may end up being a MASSIVE update. Algo change, fee change (1 pk flat), I’m considering killing deposits(making them) so creating/implementing new wallet software will be easy-peasy(CLI will have all the functionality of the GUI so a “shell” is easy to do), and a handful of other things I’m not as sure about.

At some point this year, i would like to make our infrastructure more decentralized & private. We should work with others who share our outlook/morals. Probably like an IPS website, namecoin domain, rocketchat rather than discord, etc.

Things are moving slowly because I kinda had a breakdown. I have bladder disease that hurts me 24/7 and it really wears on you. My levels got worse, new medicines weren’t working, and I just kinda lost it. I am switching up some of my Drs, and getting new ones ( gonna start seeing a shrink).

I plan on sitting down and reworking the roadmap to reflect the changes in timing of these things.

If you have any questions/suggestions/comments, hop on twitter or discord. I’m always happy to talk PK.

-jerry

--

--