Valentine Update

Jerry Howell
Pennykoin Blog
Published in
2 min readFeb 12, 2019

Last time I posted ( here) I talked about the upcoming update, the code is done and we’re waiting to deploy simultaneously so we don’t see any sidechains. It’s a crap solution, but the fix needed to come out, I vow never to use such janky update methods again, but rather standard hardforking.

Now that I’ve apologized, let me tell you what’s in the update!

  1. The network lockout: the main purpose is to kill a bug caused by old clients, this will keep any software made before this update from connecting to the main PK chain.
  2. transaction parsing: In simple wallet you now have more tools to search for particular transactions, you can see all tx, incoming, outgoing, or list from a specific height
  3. transaction verification: still needs much testing, but the new system *should allow verifying a tx to your wallet remotely. IE you can see if a deposit or payment hit an offline or paper wallet
  4. burning bug: we weren’t affected by half of the CN burning bug, but it was still possible for someone to burn their own coins, that isn’t possible either now
  5. lockup is fixed: ever close your wallet, but then when you go to start again, you find out it’s been running the whole time? not any more ( in my tests anyway lol)
  6. sign/verify message: [PkQyEgdjkjbGssVere1rLdcBFzxMromXz3hcvyPvdHoHRF7D6BQXodBc9S7M9zgqA1EtjiA8B96N1FGpfr3kZ5bn1KYuHHkWJ] is my main wallet address. You can verify in-wallet that a string of text was signed by my wallet. So not only would someone have to break my github credentials (I use hardware 2fa now), but also get my private key in order to trojan a PK release ( the denarius attack)
  7. 51 protection: chain reorginization is now limited to a maximum of 6 blocks, which is also our spending time. So the chain cannot rollback once PK is spendable
  8. tracking wallets work better and the “showkeys” command in simplewallet gives you all the useful keys instead of having separate functions to export tracking keys
  9. fixed a bug in zawy LWMA

That’s the long & short of it, the multi-wallet service has been moved back to the main codebase as well, but that shouldn’t matter to most users. If you have a comment or question, get at me on twitter or discord.

--

--