Plural Values, Rules, and Knowledge in Rural Landscape Restoration: Insights from Rwanda

Gaelle Ndayizeye recently joined the social-ecological interactions group as a researcher and PhD candidate. Here, she introduces herself and her research within the DFG-funded research unit ”A Social-Ecological Systems Approach to Inform Ecosystem Restoration in Rural Africa”.

Gaelle Ndayizeye
People • Nature • Landscapes
7 min readJun 26, 2024

--

Our new research group member Gaelle in the field during the scoping in the western Rwanda: Photo by Verene Nyiramvuyekure

Hello Gaelle, welcome to the team! It’s good to have you with us. Would you briefly introduce yourself?

Thank you. I’m from Bujumbura, the largest city in Burundi, neighboring Rwanda. I am an early-stage researcher and I joined the Social-Ecological Interactions group as a researcher in December 2023. My research focuses on a participatory approach to understanding and contributing to social-ecological restoration.

Economic capital city of Burundi: Bujumbura. Photo: Wikimedia.

With my research, I’m actively contributing to the goals of the UN Decade of Ecosystem Restoration as a member of the interdisciplinary DFG-funded research unit “A Social-Ecological Systems Approach to Inform Ecosystem Restoration in Rural Africa”. I am part of Sub-Project 6: Nature’s Contributions to People, in which I am using a place-based approach to appraise values, rules, and knowledge of the local stakeholders that shape restoration. This approach involves engaging local stakeholders to assess and map the values they associate with different parts of the landscape, the formal and informal rules, and the traditional knowledge that guides their interactions with restoration areas.

My master’s studies at the University of Burundi focused on terrestrial ecosystems and landscape management. Before joining the team of Prof. Plieninger at the University of Göttingen, I worked as an affiliated researcher of the “Centre de Recherche en Sciences Naturelles et de l’Environnement” (CRSNE), and as a lecturer at the University of Burundi where I contributed to various conservation projects.

What research projects have you already been involved in during your studies at the University of Burundi?

During my master’s research, I focused on biodiversity conservation and ecosystem services in a protected area in Burundi. I also worked as a student assistant on a conservation project on “umuremera” (Prunus africana) from Kibira National Park, an indigenous tree species with a conservation status under CITES. At the same time, I developed my master’s thesis, which investigated the ecosystem services that Kibira National Park provides.

Kibira National Park, located in northwestern Burundi. Photo: Gaelle Ndayizeye.

My Master’s research used a social-cultural valuation approach, emphasizing the perceptions of ecosystem services by the local communities including indigenous people (Batwa). I focused on how local people view and value the benefits they get from nature. In my study “Ecosystem services from mountain forests: Local communities’ views in Kibira National Park, Burundi,” I explored how these communities understand and appreciate the services provided by the forest.

After completing my master’s degree, I continued to work on various conservation projects in the research center CRSNE. One notable project involved the restoration and domestication of indigenous tree species preferred by and referred to by the local communities during my master’s research to alleviate pressure on Kibira National Park. This project funded by Rufford Foundation (UK) leveraged the findings from my thesis about the species commonly harvested by local communities as highlighted in my report.

“My research journey is dedicated to bridging the gap between scientific research and community-based conservation, my goal is to ensure that ecosystems and the people who depend on them thrive.”

Nursery of Indigenous multi-purpose tree species from Kibira National Park including Prunus africana. Photo: Gaelle Ndayizeye.

These experiences have fueled my passion for working on social-ecological systems, and they continue to drive my commitment to conservation and restoration efforts in my region.

Community awareness and species restoration in Kibira National Park, Burundi. Photo: Gaelle Ndayizeye.

What was your motivation to choose a PhD in the Social-Ecological Interactions research group?

My desire to further my career goals and fulfill a personal passion led me to pursue a PhD in the Social-Ecological Interactions research group. My choice was influenced by my previous work on ecosystem services and ecosystem restoration in Burundi, which highlighted the importance of putting local actors at the center of my research.

The unique academic environment of the Social-Ecological Interactions research group, with its interdisciplinary research in ecological, social, and agricultural sciences, promised a holistic approach to environmental challenges. Working with a diverse team of experts provides invaluable knowledge in linking conservation and sustainable development goals.

I also wanted to give something back to my home country and region. A PhD in Prof. Plieninger’s research group will help me gain advanced knowledge and skills for conservation and restoration efforts in my region, to improve local livelihoods while preserving the environment.

“Overall, my decision to pursue a PhD at SEI was driven by my commitment to interdisciplinary, community-based research and my desire to contribute to global and local sustainability efforts.”

My journey as a new PhD candidate: Insights and reflections

As a new PhD student in the Social-Ecological Interactions group, my journey has been both challenging and immensely rewarding. Since starting in December 2023, I have been immersed in a stimulating academic environment that has expanded my horizon and deepened my understanding of complex social-ecological systems.

One of the most enriching aspects of my experience so far has been the collaborative spirit within our research group. The diverse expertise and perspectives of my colleagues have not only broadened my knowledge but also inspired me. The support I receive from the group has been invaluable, helping me navigate the early stages of my PhD with confidence.

“Each day presents new challenges and learning experiences, pushing me to grow both personally and professionally. The process of refining my research questions and developing methodologies has been a steep learning curve, but it is incredibly satisfying to see my PhD research taking shape each day.”

First scoping trip experiences in Rwanda and plans for fieldwork

My PhD research involves engaging local stakeholders in rural Rwanda to appraise how far the plural values (such as cultural heritage and economic benefits), rules (including local regulations and customary laws), and knowledge (both scientific and indigenous) shape and govern restoration outcomes. By integrating traditional knowledge with scientific research, I aim to shed light on practical solutions that empower local farmers and promote long-term ecological resilience. I will be using diverse methods such as participatory mapping, interviews, and focus group discussions to document their local knowledge related to ecosystem management and restoration.

My PhD research, which focuses on a participatory approach to understanding and contributing to the social-ecological restoration, will present opportunities to engage with local stakeholders and researchers in Rwanda through upcoming workshops and fieldwork activities. In January 2024, I, along with the DFG research unit, undertook a first scoping trip to the study area in northwestern Rwanda for an initial overview of common restoration types.

Together with my colleague, Laura Kmoch, we just commenced our first data collection campaign. For this initial fieldwork, I plan to conduct a PPGIS study on plural values using both place-based and participatory approaches. This method allows me to spatially appraise the values associated with landscape restoration across four randomly selected sites within the study area.

“The PPGIS study will help to map out local communities’ perceptions of the value of various aspects of the restoration landscapes, providing a nuanced understanding of the social-ecological dynamics.”

The second and third fieldwork on rules and knowledge are planned for the beginning and end of next year, respectively. Part of these will be a PPGIS survey which will be later used for a bigger PPGIS survey using the VRK framework to inform restoration outcomes and suggest other solutions for future restoration actions. Gathering local people’s perceptions of landscape restoration will ensure that their voices and experiences are integral to the research, which ultimately helps to make restoration strategies more effective and inclusive.

Social-ecological restoration landscape in northwestern Rwanda. Photo: Gaelle Ndayizeye.

Please tell us something about topics and methods that you are interested in and would like to get in touch about with others!

I am interested in participatory approaches, social-ecological systems, and integrating traditional ecological knowledge with scientific research. I aim to explore methods such as public participation GIS, social-cultural assessment, community-based conservation practices, scenario planning, and adaptive management frameworks to enhance stakeholder engagement and the impact of conservation projects.

I want to connect with others working on similar issues or using these methods. Working together can improve our understanding and implementation of sustainable practices, making our research more impactful.

If you are interested in discussing these topics or exploring potential collaboration opportunities, please contact me at gaelle.ndayizeye@uni-goettingen.de or Twitter or LinkedIn.

“Together we can advance our knowledge and make a meaningful contribution to conservation and restoration.”

Further reading

For further information about my previous research visit: https://doi.org/10.1016/j.ecoser.2020.101171 or Google Scholar or ResearchGate.

Detailed information about the RESTORE project can be found at: https://ecosystemrestoration.net/.

Read also about our scoping trip to Rwanda: In the blog post Let’s celebrate! The International Day of Forests, and the newsletter agrar aktuell of the University of Göttingen’s Faculty of Agriculture.

Restoration landscape in western Rwanda. Photo: Gaelle Ndayizeye.

--

--