Montreal’s Must-Attend Summer Events

Charlotte Joy Callender
PeopleLikeUs
Published in
4 min readJun 2, 2017

Montreal is a city known for its great festivals and events. I asked the team for their recommendations on what to check out. Read on to know what gets the most 💙s, see a few tips for enjoying them, and weigh in on your faves.

This is how I feel about summer. Thanks GIPHY, for expressing it so well.

Francofolies – June 8-18, 2017: 💙

Marie

Having grown up in France, I’ve always had a strong bond with francophone music. The Francofolies feature artists from Quebec, but also from France, so it’s always a great opportunity to see some artists whose music I would listen to when I was younger!

Tip: Check out the free concerts! You can always drop by and check it out to discover some new really cool artists!

MURAL — June 8–18, 2017: 💙💙

The runner up for favourite. We are a creative agency after all 🙃

Michelle M

I love seeing the awesome art that make our city more vibrant & lively, and to top it off, street food, music and street sales!

Fannie

I plan to kick-off the summer with this street art festival taking over Saint-Laurent street. I really like to stop and stare at murals I walk by, but I only see the end result.

What I like about this festival is that you can witness the creative process live, as well as listen to awesome music. Although most of the festival happens on the Plateau, there’s a mural by Antoine Tava, right around the corner from my house (I live in Petite-Patrie).

Swing L’été — June 24, July 15, and Aug. 5, 2017: 💙

Charlotte (That’s me)

I haven’t been for a few year, but it’s great. You can take a free lesson if you want, meet super friendly people, watch some really great dancers, dance your feet off, and have a picnic by the river. This is a win.

Tip: Bring water! 💃🕺= 😅
Also, check out the other free dance activities at the Verdun Greenhouse and keep an eye out for more around Montreal.

Festival International de Jazz– June 26-July 8, 2017: 💙

Marie

Being the show-lover that she is, she couldn’t pick just one. She says that it’s such a great place to discover some new really cool artists!

Tip: Remember to check out the free shows!

Marie shared this pic of the great fest. Check out her Instagram for lots of concert photography.

Comiccon – July 7–9, 2017: 💙

Valerie

I love the Comiccon. Yes it’s geeky and I spend too much money on things but it’s the perfect occasion to meet people who like the same thing as you, see amazing costumes, meet your favourite characters (this year David Tennant and Nathan Fillion are there !!!) and buy everything you need for your Funko Pop collection on your desk.

Valerie is very happy because this involves Dr. Who!

And the winner is…

Giphy, I love you.

JUST FOR LAUGHS – July 12- 31, 2017: 💙💙💙

The fact that JFL won helps explain the immense popularity of our funandrandom Slack channel as well as the awesomeness that is lunchtime conversation.

Charles

When making summer plans with friends or loved ones, my first request is always, “Not during Just for Laughs.”

I’m a total comedy nerd, so it’s incredible to have the world’s most famous comics, plus loads of new talent, come to your city.

The shows are great, and during the day you’ll just run into comedians walking around the festival site.

Charles with Scott Aukerman , host of Comedy Bang Bang and co-creator of Between Two Ferns.

Conrad

I try to attend as many shows and events as I can.

A lot of the times we get comedians and other celebrities that have played in shows or movies that I watched over and over again as a kid so it gives me a nostalgic feeling when I see them on stage today.

I’m a huge movie/television fan so seeing the comedians in person is quite special to me.

Annabelle

The Agnew side of my family places heavy emphasis on having a good sense of humour; SNL wasn’t recreational, it was a study guide.

I also spent a lot of my student life at local open mics to support my best friend working to become a stand-up comedian. The evenings were inexpensive and always fun — I got hooked.

This one is of Annabelle and the best friend she was talking about (Rebecca Kohler) just outside the festival at nyk’s. Rebecca normally flies in to write for comedians at the JFL festival and then they get to hang out. Last year, she performed at the PK Subban Gala.

Tip: At JFL I’ve seen the big ones like Louis CK, Bill Burr, Aziz Ansari etc. and they have been great, but I would recommend to avoid the Galas and go the the club shows: you get a variety of comics and the setup brings better comedy vibes. You also never know who might show up and surprise you.

There you have it. Our favourite summer events. Did we miss something? Got something else to say? Let us know in the comments. We’re all ears. AND, if you liked this post, 💙 and follow! We’re fuelled by love and SUMMER!!!!!!!!!

--

--

Charlotte Joy Callender
PeopleLikeUs

Puzzle-loving web dev with a thirst for knowledge. Lover of chocolate, dance, and sunny days.