Personal Priorities & Goals for 2022

DailyPriyab
PeopleSpeak
Published in
3 min readJan 11, 2022
Funny Caption on New Year Goals

Background

Every year in the first week of the year I make New Year resolutions, they are loose set of wishes which I then forget or lose out on. There have been many times where I even remember the resolution but never did it.

In this regard, last year was special, I achieved many of my goals that I went out to do. It was not easy, but by some luck and with some perseverance I was able to achieve them. Also, since last year was mostly a Covid Year, so my goals were modest, hence was able to get lot done and am very happy where I ended my Year.

2022 Blues

When I started 2021, I was on a high, I had few hopes but as it came to an end, omicron and few other uncertainties again put my plans in a tizzy. Now there is a great degree of uncertainty and lot of my old plans have changed. I have setup some high targets and some are carried over from last year. With such mix match of goals, I am not really sure what to prioritise. Hence, I am again in Blues territory where I am again ready to go with the flow, rather than managing the rudder of my life. I have realised, in last 3 years that life is short and I am getting old and I cannot do everything hence I need to decide where I want to proceed from now on.

Power of Habits

There are few habits that I want to improve though, one is writing, making some fun and educational videos/vlogs and also keep learning and organising better. I want decrease my in-flight tasks and improve on my delivery and planning. Currently I am following a simpler form of “Getting Things Done” model but I am sure I will have to pivot and have to streamline it. The basic idea is to improve my habits and create some more positive and good habits.

What Not to Do

I do not want do is feel depressed at things which I have missed. And I will free my brain as much as possible, not cluttered with thoughts and will write my thoughts out as to dos, goals or mini projects. I will not just think but also execute.

Hope for this Year

Some areas I would hope this year will be to earn a lot, buy a home, may be travel to a foreign destination and may be start a business and make it successful.

Finally

Somehow Covid and work from home has given time for me to think and plan. While being at home and not getting to do lot of things is frustrating. These are great times to value your life and prioritise what we want to do next. I wish to spend this year reading, learning and implementing some of my long-standing goals in my life. Wish me luck.

--

--

DailyPriyab
PeopleSpeak

Data Engineering | Data Governance | Azure | Spark | Python | Manager