Reading “The Best Short Stories Ever”

DailyPriyab
PeopleSpeak
Published in
2 min readJan 16, 2022

Introduction

I finished reading the story book collection “The Best Short Stories Ever”, Edited by Terry O’ Brein. I have lost touch with reading books, I am again trying to inculcate the habit again. Reading a physical book after so long was really great.

Some of the best stories in this story collection are:

- The Necklace by Guy de Maupassant
- The Open Window by Saki
- The Last Leaf by O’ Henry
- The Confession by Guy de Maupassant
- Salvatore by Somerset Maugham
- A Chameleon by Anton Chekhov
- The Hand by Guy de Maupassant
- A Retrieved Reformation by O’ Henry

My Problem

But given I have so many e-books, it becomes difficult to read them in a laptop. I sold off an old tablet which I was hoping I can buy a new one or an e-reader. But a combination of bad luck and circumstances because of which either I am trying to read the physical books or on my 10 inch 2 in one notebook.

My Experience

It took me almost 6 months to read this book. It helped that it was a story book where I can take breaks and read this. Having a novel or some non-fiction book where there is interrelation between the narration or storyline would have been difficult to follow if I was getting back to the book after some time. That is why I like Story Books and essay anthologies. While in digital medium, articles and blogs have picked up. But I have always liked essay, they are longer than articles, they may put a perspective or opinion but as a literary work they are complete and can be read in a short session and the amount of recall that I need to have is very less and can be reread in a short
while if need be.

But this book which I picked out of all the places in a supermarket was a great investment, I really enjoyed the book and was really helpful to go back to my passion of reading books which I have lost since so many years.

Finally

I can only hope I read more books, novels, essays and have a good physical book or digital medium where I can improve my reading skills. Reading had been one of my greatest passions and I wish to nourish it.

You can get the book at https://amzn.to/33I7bHP

--

--

DailyPriyab
PeopleSpeak

Data Engineering | Data Governance | Azure | Spark | Python | Manager