Daylight Savings and Saving Daylight

Pepperdine Rising Tide
Pepperdine Rising Tide
4 min readNov 11, 2015

So to be honest, I don’t really know why Daylight Savings Time is a thing. Around 68% of countries in the world do not use this time adjustment and they’re doing perfectly fine. There is literally a website entitled “We Don’t Need Daylight Savings Time” which outlines all the disadvantages of having this time change.

But anyways, on November 1st when daylight savings time ended, I decided to use my extra hour for something other than sleep. I got up, made breakfast, walked outside, enjoyed the Malibu View, and got ready for a great Sunday Morning. The concept of Daylight Savings made me
want to save every moment of my time overall in college. Specifically this past week a few things happened that I will not forget…

The sky was just WOW. I took this picture with my phone but it doesn’t even capture how beautiful it actually was! I am reminded every day of the beauty God created on this earth (and at the Bu)!

I met Willow Smith. We were both singing and low key dancing to “Got It” by Marian Hill at Sunlife. Then I turned around and was slightly disappointed to see that she didn’t have enough hair to whip her hair back and forth.

October ended and I NEVER went to a local pumpkin patch (insert sad face here). As I reminisce upon my #regrets, here’s a picture of me doing October the right way.

I started getting ready for the Christmas season with some cool friends. But in reality I’ve been ready for Christmas since December 26th of last year.

I had a slumber party with some deer. For some reason they thought the most comfortable place to sleep would be right in front of my window.

I found out my dog is a celebrity back home. I don’t know what’s more strange about this picture that my mom sent me. The fact that random people stopped to take his picture, or that he is actually smiling for their cameras?

After this weird but memorable week was over, another Sunday came, except this time without the extra hour. Unlike the last Sunday morning that involved saving each moment in time, something else was on my mind. I woke up to a call from my mom saying that my grandma passed away.

I guess I just want to take this part of my blog to let the whole world know how amazing she was. Laughing until you can’t breathe is something that everyone always experiences when you’re around her. Family is such a blessing, and I guess in that sense, college is hard.

That specific morning was just a day that I wanted to be with my family, but instead I just didn’t know where to go. When you are living away from home, it’s often difficult to find a place alone just to think, or cry, or even grieve. But, I think that just brought me ten times closer to the people that I share this close space with every day.

I am so thankful for my family and the friends that I’ve made here who are even starting to feel like family. I am so thankful for the amazing Grandma that God has blessed me with, and I am so happy to know that she’s with my Grandpa up in heaven waiting for us all to come home.

--

--

Pepperdine Rising Tide
Pepperdine Rising Tide

Rising Tide is an original docuseries following five students as they navigate their four years of college at Pepperdine University in Malibu, CA.