One Day I Will Wake Up to a Quieter World

Shachar pan
5 min readMar 19, 2023
A room with white curtains, light from the window, a bookcase and a laptop on the table
Photo by Marko Kovic on Unsplash

This story is about an invisible injustice in our society. That is the noisy world we live in, especially in cities where we can’t escape unpleasant sounds and vibrations that permeate every aspect of our existence. While it’s reasonable to occur in a public space, it shouldn’t be as frequent in our most private place called home.

For those sensitive to noise like me, this noisy world can interrupt our sleep and cut the focus to doing what we love, whether it’s writing, developing our side hustle, working from home, enjoying hobbies, reading a book, or simply relaxing on the sofa doing nothing.

I experienced too many nights of trying to sleep only to be woken up by the sound of a neighbor’s roof party or a prolonged friend’s meetup next door. I also frequently coped with the upstairs neighbor who dragged furniture exactly when I finally sat down to write my story.

On other occasions, I was asleep and suddenly heard a drill noise nearby. When I opened the window, I was shocked to find my neighbor renovating his kitchen at 7 am. I just wanted to sleep more before starting my workday. But no. The kitchen must be renovated now, and its look is considered more important than the unbearable sound produced during the renovation.

This is the reality for many sensitive people who live in city blocks, where the noise levels can be overwhelming and unbearable. “You might be just too sensitive,” I’m being told when complaining about the noise.

The dominant norm permits doing almost anything at home, regardless of the noise, while we, the sensitive guys, are expected to tolerate the noise and use earplugs. Or go for a walk outside. Or leave the city.

“Every city block has some noise. This is the way it is. If you want quiet, go live in a town” — this is the typical statement I get from friends with whom I share my story. I don’t blame them. This is indeed the reality today.

But it doesn’t have to be this way. City blocks can be changed, and they will be changed if we raise enough awareness for the issue.

I see this day coming. I feel it. I dream about it.

One day I will wake up to a world where my neighbors are aware of the noise they produce. Whether it’s shouting, talking loudly on their phones or with friends, or playing music at high volume, they will show at least respect for the sensitive people next door.

When I ask them politely to decrease the volume of their music at night, they will show understanding and accept to do so — not after asking them the fifth time, but the first- or second-time max.

One day I will wake up to a quieter world where electric drills in the block will be allowed only with a dedicated silencer. I know that seems challenging to create, but hey, if new tech solutions were invented for noise-canceling headphones, why not for the source of the noise too? Then, people like me will no longer need to wake up frightened by the unbearable noise from any renovation.

In my imaginary world, the production standard of air conditioner engines will require isolating the vibration from the walls more effectively. Moreover, air conditioners could only stay on all night if they were quiet. This way, sensitive inhabitants could finally sleep in peace without the uncomforted of wearing earplugs.

One day I will wake up knowing I will no longer need to move to a town, compromise on my career opportunities or limit my social life to avoid noise issues. Instead, I could work from home peacefully and enjoy the big city’s opportunities.

I dream there will be a standard association stamp to soundproof every wall in the city block so sensitive and extroverted inhabitants can peacefully live together.

One day I will wake up to a world where we can work in the comfort of our homes and not need to work in the local cafe or library just because of a new construction site nearby.

In the world I talk about, construction site managers would cooperate with the surrounding inhabitants before moving on. For example, the managers will introduce them to a detailed schedule by noise levels and discuss breaks in the work. That way, everyone could plan their working-from-home day wisely and make better decisions about staying in the apartment.

Looking at the sky, I will not see airplanes flying so low above me, even if I live in the suburbs. Their flight lane would be instead higher or more distant from the city. So, I could be reassured that no booming noise from these planes would catch me off guard while working or in the middle of my sleep.

In the world I see, I could focus on my side hustle as much as I want to, preserving a high productivity level with less external noise. I could peacefully write content I like and wouldn’t need to write tips about writing while coping with noise from the neighbors.

I imagine the day when professionals understand that noise sensitivity is not just being too sensitive or stressed out from every sound but also resulting from a noisy society.

One day I will wake up to a world where people like me will not be judged by their sensitivity but by their right to feel comfortable in their homes.

One day I will wake up to a quieter world where those susceptible to noise feel equally belong.

Disclaimer

This story is solely educational and should not be treated as something other than that. I just wanted to raise awareness of the noisy society issue with no intention of debasing those who aren’t sensitive to noise, home partyers, my neighbors from all times, or professionals of any kind.

As you might have noticed, the vivid idealist writing style was inspired by the one and only Martin Luther King. However, I had no intention of equalizing the noise injustice with the far more significant injustice of the black people he talked about.

--

--

Shachar pan

A deep-dive, late bloomer sharing his journey with blogging, YouTube, and personal development.